Posito Martinez claims the 2016 IKA Freestyle world title

October 24, 2016 | Kiteboarding
Posito Martinez: the 2016 IKA Freestyle world champion | Photo: IKA

Posito Martinez, Estefania Rosa, and Bibiana Magaji claimed the Freestyle and Big Air world titles at Porto Pollo, in Italy.

Martinez has reasons to celebrate. He is the first rider from the Dominican Republic to clinch a world kiteboarding title. Actually, he won two world titles.

Posito was able to secure a fifth place finish in the Freestyle event and conquer the IKA's Freestyle world title. With only ten seconds before the end of the decisive heat, the Dominican pulls off a massive 315 and takes the win.

In Big Air division, Posito Martinez and Lewis Crathern finished the season tied on points, but because the Dominican won the competition, and automatically placed highest in the most recent event, he took the world title.

In the Women's Freestyle category, Estefania Rosa put out her bag of tricks - s-bend to blind, 313, backside 313 and back-to-blind - and won another stage. She is the 2016 world champion.

"I am extremely happy and proud of myself. No doubt it was the happiest day of my life. Thanks to all my sponsors, friends, family and fans who believe in me, not only as an athlete but as a person as well," expressed Rosa.

Finally, in the Big Air division, Bibiana Magaji confirmed her superiority and won her second consecutive event. The kiteboarder from Slovakia conquered the 2016 title.

"There were really tough conditions, strong gusty winds, but I managed it. Feels like a dream and if you wake up, it's not true anymore. I think I still didn't really realize it!" concluded Magaji.

2016 IKA Kiteboarding World Championships | Final Rankings

Freestyle Men
1. Posito Martinez (DOM / Da Silva) - 2040 pts
2. Carlos Mario (BRA / Slingshot) - 2000 pts
3. Youri Zoon (NED / Silingshot) - 1915 pts

Freestyle Women
1. Estefania Rosa (BRA / Cabrinha) - 2615 pts
2. Bruna Kajiya (BRA / Airush) - 1915 pts
3. Annabel Van Westerop (ARU) - 1855 pts

Big Air Men
1. Posito Martinez (DOM / Da Silva) - 1855 pts
2. Lewis Crathern (GBR / North) - 1855 pts
3. Marius Hoppe (GER) - 1830 pts

Big Air Women
1. Bibiana Magaji (SVK / Flysurfer) - 2000 pts
2. Franziska Otth (SUI / Naish) - 915 pts
3. Ines Correia (POR / North) - 915 pts

Wave Men
1. Pedro Matoz (BRA / North) - 1000 pts
2. Filippe Ferreira (BRA / F-One) - 915 pts
3. Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA / North) - 855 pts

Wave Women
1. Ines Correia (POR / North) - 1000 pts
2. Milla Ferreira (BRA / Cabrinha) - 915 pts
3. Jia Lin Hou (TPE / F-One) - 855 pts