Sam Light and Karolina Winkowska crowned 2016 Kite Park League champions

January 12, 2017 | Kiteboarding
Sam Light: winner of the 2016 Kite Park League | Photo: Bromwich/Triple-S Invitational

It's a wrap. The inaugural Kite Park League (KPL) season has come to an end.

The Kite Park League was created because there's more to kiteboarding than just ocean riding. Therefore, a group of wakeboarding, snowboarding, and kiteboarders decided to develop a championship that crowns kite park specialists. In other words, kiters who appreciate sliders and kickers.

Basically, the KPL compiles the results from several events and announces two overall champions. And the 2016 Kite Park League consisted of five events: the Blue Palawan Kiteboard Open, the Triple-S Invitational, the Slider Project, the Rail Masters Kite Jib Contest, and the Rhosneigr Park Jam.

Sam Light stormed the first KPL edition by winning four of five contests, while Karolina Winkowska won three events out of four. 

"I've done the freestyle tour for ten years, so actually switching to Kite Park League was cool for me. It's a different format, and we compete with different riders and go to different locations," explained Winkowska.

"All riders were involved in creating the best events. We pushed the sport, had a great time, so I really enjoyed this kind of format, and I'm looking forward to the next year. I know the guys will try to improve everything."

2016 Kite Park League | Top 5

1. Sam Light (UK)
2. Brandon Scheid (USA)
3. Noe Font (SPA)
4. Ewan Jaspan (AUS)
5. Craig Cunningham (CAN)

1. Karolina Winkowska (POL)
2. Colleen Carroll (USA)
3. Sensi Graves (USA)
4. Manuela Jungo (SWI)
5. Annelous Lammerts (NED)