Spain wins 2011 Red Bull Battle of Trafalgar

October 10, 2011 | Kiteboarding
Spain: winners of the Batalla de Trafalgar, again

History has been rewritten. The Spanish kiteboarding team has conquered the Red Bull Batalla de Trafalgar. The 43-rider armada beat the United Kingdom and France in the iconic contest.

The Spaniards took less time to get 10 kitesurfers in their tower. Liam Whaley and Álvaro Onieva were the first to get to the goal. They were followed by Silvester Ruckdaeschel and Gisela Pulido. Finally, Patrick Blanc and Álex Pastor got to the finish line.

The three individual winner were Steph Bridge (UK), Alberto Prieto (ESP) and Patrick Blanc (ESP). France took the second overall result and the UK had to keep the last place.

The Red Bull Batalla de Trafalgar gathered the best kiteboarders from Spain, United Kingdom and France with only one goal: victory. The competition was held in the windy Bay of Cadiz, in Spain.

The real Battle of Trafalgar was a sea battle fought between the British Royal Navy and the combined fleets of the French Navy and Spanish Navy, on the 21st October 1805. The battle was the most decisive British naval victory of the war.

Twenty-seven British ships of the line led by Admiral Lord Nelson aboard HMS Victory defeated thirty-three French and Spanish ships of the line under French Admiral Pierre-Charles Villeneuve.