Stormy conditions force equal winners at the Aer Lingus Kite Surf Pro

October 29, 2012 | Kiteboarding
Aer Lingus Kite Surf Pro: stormy Ireland

The power of the Atlantic Ocean forced five lay days at the Aer Lingus Kite Surf Pro, in Ireland. In the last possible day of competition, rough weather conditions saw the best riders sharing first places.

The final day of the Aer Lingus Kite Surf Pro got underway before daybreak when the 6am call was made to move the mobile event to an alternate location north of Achill Island. Overhead surf and 30 plus knot winds with intermittent rainsqualls marked the early morning heats. 

Men's round 2 and 3 standouts included Keahi De Aboitiz, who threw some of the biggest airs of the entire competition and Matchu Almeida, who cruised through his early round heats with fluid style.

On the women's side Kirsty Jones and Milla Ferreira battled through the middle rounds, eventually meeting in the 3rd place final with Ferreira taking the podium position. The women's final saw reigning KSP world champion Ines Correia come up against tour rookie and in-form rider of the event Jalou Langeree.

Deteriorating conditions in the late afternoon prevented the final from being completed, forcing Correia and Langeree to share the event title and world ranking points. Fading conditions halted the men's competition at round 5, just one heat after attaining an official result for the men's ladder.

”The conditions were super hard out there, but we are here to compete and do our best even if it's not the perfect dream conditions", said Sebastian Ribeiro.

The remaining 12 men still left in the competition will split equal points in the already hotly contested KSP world title race heading into the fourth and final stop of 2012 in Maui, Hawaii, next month.

Aer Lingus Kite Surf Pro

Men's Equal First
Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA), Airton Cozzolino (ITA), Luke McGillewie (RSA), Keahi De Aboitiz (AUS), Guilly Brandao (BRA), Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA), Pedro Henrique (BRA), Filippe Ferreira (BRA), Etienne Lhote (FRA), Mitu Monteiro (CPV), Mauricio Pedreira (BRA), Matchu Almeida Lopez (CPV), Patri McLaughlin (HAW)

Women's Equal First
Jalou Langeree (NED), Ines Correia (POR)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: