The 2020 Red Bull Megaloop lineup

March 23, 2020 | Kiteboarding
Red Bull Megaloop: ride hard, fly high, and show the biggest mega loops | Photo: Red Bull

The riders line-up for the 2020 Red Bull Megaloop has been unveiled.

Last month, the organization announced the first 12 invited athletes. Now, the Red Bull Megaloop committee and judges have selected the last four riders out of 47 video submissions.

Usually, the wind window runs from April 1 to November 1.

But due to the current situation with the novel coronavirus Covid-19 outbreak, the opening of the wind window has been postponed until further notice.

The decision was made after consulting the Dutch health authorities.

All riders have been selected based on a combination of the ranking of previous editions and the level of riding - in particular, mastering the performance of the mega loop, one of the most extreme tricks in kiteboarding.

Additionally, four riders have been selected by their video entries. The committee has judged the video's on extremity, execution, and flow.

The Winning Video Entries

The Red Bull Megaloop committee has decided to award Janek Gregorzewski, Maarten Haeger, Ewan Jaspan, and Stig Hoefnagel wildcards into the event.

All of these riders have been knocking on the door for a while and will now get a chance to shake things up in the all-star lineup of the 2020 Red Bull Megaloop.

"The committee and judges looked for riders that showed a combination of height, kite angle, and vertical ground covered in their megaloops," the committee states.

"These four riders certainly checked those boxes of extremity. Added to that, they have shown great variety and technical difficulty in their mega loops."

"They convinced the judges with their overall control in extreme conditions with high-end performance and full completion of their tricks."

The 2020 Red Bull Megaloop will get underway when the weather conditions are perfect, which means when the wind hits 35 knots or more.

The world's best kiteboarders only have three goals: ride hard, fly high, and show the biggest mega loops.

2020 Red Bull Megaloop | List of Invitees

Jesse Richman (USA)
Ross-Dillon Player (RSA)
Oswald Smith (RSA)
Lasse Walker (NED)
Joshua Emanuel (RSA)
Steven Akkersdijk (NED)
Ruben Lenten (NED)
Kevin Langeree (NED)
Nick Jacobsen (DK)
Aaron Hadlow (UK)
Liam Whaley (SPA)
Louk Timmer (NED)
Janek Gregorzewski (POL)
Maarten Haeger (NED)
Ewan Jaspan (SCOT)
Stig Hoefnagel (NED)