Three kiteboarders shortlisted for the US Sailing awards

December 26, 2012 | Kiteboarding
Erika Heineken: hang in there, girl

Rob Douglas, Johnny and Erika Heineken have been shortlisted in the nominees for the 2012 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards.

Kiteboarders have conquered an important position in US Sailing, as three riders out of 14 wind sports men and women make it to the prestigious shortlist.

The 2012 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards celebrate the most outstanding performances of the season, from kiteboarding to the J/24 sailboat.

Rob Douglas, the fastest kiteboarder on Earth, Johnny and Erika Heineken, the IKA Course Racing champions will battle for the trophy alongside with the best US sailors.

Jason Carroll, JP Creignou, Bill Hardesty, John Kilroy, John Mollicone and Caleb Paine are in the men's shortlist. Sally Barkow, Amanda Clark, Deneen Demourkas, Jen French and Anna Tunnicliffe run in the women's shortlist.

The nominees will be reviewed by a panel of noted sailing journalists. US Sailing's 2012 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year will be announced in January 2013. uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.