Kekoa Cazimero: nice move | Photo: Christa Funk

Josh Moniz and Nelson Ahina have won the first stage of the 2015 Hawaii Surfing Championship, held in one-to-three-foot surf at Ala Moana Bowls, in Honolulu.

Warm temperatures, no wind and highly competitive players. The Hawaii Surfing Championship hopes to become a World Surf League (WSL) qualifying event, and there's no reason it won't happen in the near future.

"The goal is to allow local surfers to compete in Hawaii during the summer, and acquire much needed WSL points without having to rack up travel expenses by having travel around the globe when it can be done here," explains Tomas Kloosterboer, the event manager.

The inaugural contest of the season saw Isaac Kaneshiro getting his board skegged in a free surf before his heat and having a ripped out fin box, and about 10'' of foam showing. Despite surfing with only the back fin of his thruster setup, he managed to reach the longboard final won by Ahina.

In the shortboard competition, Josh and Kylen Yamakawa delivered all their trademark airs and power hacks to impress the judges. In the end, Moniz climbed higher in the podium.

2015 Hawaii Surfing Championship | Ala Moana Bowls

1. Josh Moniz
2. Kylen Yamakawa
3. Kaimana Henry
4. Kekoa Cazimero

1. Nelson Ahina
2. Makamae Desoto
3. Kai Sallas
4. Isaac Kaneshiro

Surfing at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games will take place in the ocean, not in a wave pool. The waiting period runs from July 24 to August 9.

+ Surfing News

It's almost finals' day at Playa Llacolén. The 2018 Antofagasta Bodyboard Festival (ABF) continues in La Cupula, one of the finest boogie waves in Chile.

+ Bodyboarding News

Nic Rapa and Sean Silveira have taken out the second event of the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), held at Lake Allatoona's Dallas Landing Park, in Acworth, Georgia.

+ Wakeboarding News