Cory Lopez: barreled at Teahupoo | Photo: Tom Servais

Floridian surfing legend Cory Lopez is the new name written on the East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame. The goofy-footer from Dunedin is one of the most traveled free surfers on the planet.

"Lopey" has a long and successful career. He is one of the three famous contemporary Floridian surfers who made it to the Championship Tour. Despite never having won the world title, Cory Lopez conquered several top events.

The 38-year-old surfer won the Billabong Pro Tahiti (2001), the US Open of Surfing (2003), the Globe SI Pro (2005), the gold medal at the ISA World Surfing Games (2010), and three gold medals at the X Games.

"I'm really honored to be joining the East Coast Hall of Fame. To be recognized amongst my peers as one of the best is pretty cool," expressed Lopez, who was one of the first surfers to ride the mythic wave located in Skeleton Bay, in Namibia.

The 20th-anniversary edition of the East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame will also induct surfer-shaper Rich Rudolph, writer-entrepreneur Jason Borte, veteran charger Sandy Ordille, and surfing pioneers Pam Hill, Dick Roseborough, Sid Abruzzi, among others.

Are you embarking on a surf trip? Do you plan to explore the world's best surf breaks in a surf van? Take a look at some of the coolest - and most practical - models customized explicitly for surfers.

+ Surfing News

When you reach the "End of the Road," you're all by yourself. Are you sure you're ready to get barreled at Tahiti's infamous Teahupoo?

+ Bodyboarding News

Isaac Thomas owns an interesting collection of rare skimboarding DVDs. They document the evolution of the sport since the turn of the millennium.

+ Skimboarding News

Cory Teunissen and Sean Silveira have taken out the third stop on the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), in Mooresville, North Carolina.

+ Wakeboarding News