Joel Parkinson: laying down his cards at Jeffreys Bay | Photo: Cestari/WSL

Jordy Smith, John John Florence, Josh Kerr, and Kelly Slater have confirmed their spot in Round 4 of the J-Bay Open 2016, in South Africa.

The stars of pro surfing have survived their repechage heats and advanced through to Round 3 of competition. The second day delivered three-to-five-foot waves, but the contest was later called off when conditions got worse.

Playing in home waters, Jordy Smith used his local knowledge to overcome Kolohe Andino with a near-perfect heat total of 18.20 points.

"I'm just so happy to be home and surfing good waves - it's been absolutely firing. There's a lot of history here for me, so it definitely brings up a lot of emotions. I'm just going to stick to the same things I've been doing," noted Smith.

John John Florence defeated Dusty Payne in a super tight match-up and, a few minutes later, Josh Kerr used his aerial experience to send Italo Ferreira home.

"It's about as rippable as J-Bay gets out there. It definitely zaps you with no jet ski assist, especially when you want to take chances on waves and catch a lot and make some scores happen. You come in pretty tired, especially with 35-minute heats," underlines Kerr.

The swell was losing its momentum, but Kelly Slater showed enough confidence and eliminated Adrian Buchan from competition in a low-scoring heat.

"It was a tough heat for both of us because the wind sprung up early on. I was fortunate that I was in the right position early in the heat to pick off the best wave. That was the difference between winning and losing," concluded Slater.

J-Bay Open 2016 | Round 3

Jordy Smith (ZAF) 18.20 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 10.10
John John Florence (HAW) 14.83 def. Dusty Payne (HAW) 13.93
Josh Kerr (AUS) 16.40 def. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 14.20
Kelly Slater (USA) 11.73 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 5.20

J-Bay Open 2016 | Round 3 Match-Ups

Sebastian Zietz (HAW) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Joel Parkinson (AUS)
Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Kanoa Igarashi (USA)
Caio Ibelli (BRA) vs. Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)
Adriano De Souza (BRA) vs. Davey Cathels (AUS)

Surfing at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games will take place in the ocean, not in a wave pool. The waiting period runs from July 24 to August 9.

+ Surfing News

It's almost finals' day at Playa Llacolén. The 2018 Antofagasta Bodyboard Festival (ABF) continues in La Cupula, one of the finest boogie waves in Chile.

+ Bodyboarding News

Nic Rapa and Sean Silveira have taken out the second event of the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), held at Lake Allatoona's Dallas Landing Park, in Acworth, Georgia.

+ Wakeboarding News