Bede Durbidge

The final stop on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pipe Masters, will commence this morning at 9am in three-to-five–foot (1 – 1.5 metre) conditions at the famous break of the Banzai Pipeline and will whittle the field down from the eight remaining Quarterfinalists to crown a champion by day’s end.

“We have a building swell and three-to-five foot conditions right now so we’ll be getting underway at 9am,” Randy Rarick, Vans Triple Crown Contest Director, said. “We expect to be commencing the Finals some time around 1pm.”

In addition to crowning the 2009 Billabong Pipe Masters Champion, today’s action will also see the culmination of the Vans Triple Crown (an ASP Specialty Series).

The Vans Triple Crown title race currently lies between ASP World No. 2 Joel Parkinson (AUS), 28, who was eliminated in Round 3 of Billabong Pipe Masters action, and 2001 ASP World Champion C.J. Hobgood (USA), 30, who needs to advance into the Final to overtake Parkinson’s current Vans Triple Crown ratings’ lead.

While hunting this year’s Billabong Pipe Masters and Vans Triple Crown champions, the peak of the ASP World Title race came to a head when now two-time ASP World Champion Mick Fanning (AUS), 28, claimed the 2009 ASP World Title crown at Pipeline over Parkinson.

QF 1: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
QF 2: Flynn Novak (HAW) vs. Kelly Slater (USA)
QF 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Taj Burrow (AUS)
QF 4: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Dane Reynolds (USA)

The Golden State boasts more than 1,000 miles of coastline, as well as some of the world's best surf breaks. And the Ventura County Coast is one of the original birthplaces of California surf culture.

+ Surfing News

Dimitri Maramenides, the founder and owner of Epic Kites, rode his kite a few hours before Hurricane Florence hit the East Coast of the United States.

+ Kiteboarding News