Kai Otton: don't worry, you've made it

With the completion of the Quiksilver Pro New York, won by Owen Wright (AUS), 21, in Long Beach, Long Island yesterday, the first half of the 2011 ASP World Tour has come to an end and the midyear rotation has been activated.

The new ASP Top 34 will now be comprised of the current top 32 surfers on the ASP World Rankings as well as two surfer wildcards. These 34 surfers will be joined by two event wildcards (creating a 36-man field) for the remainder of events on the ASP World Title schedule: Trestles (USA), Hossegor (FRA), Peniche (PRT), San Francisco (USA) and Pipeline (HAW).

1. Kelly Slater (USA)
2. Jordy Smith (ZAF)
3. Owen Wright (AUS)
4. Mick Fanning (AUS)
5. Taj Burrow (AUS)
6. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
7. Joel Parkinson (AUS)
8. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
9. Bede Durbidge (AUS)
10. Michel Bourez (PYF)
11. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
12. Julian Wilson (AUS)
13. Damien Hobgood (USA)
14. Josh Kerr (AUS)
15. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
16. Gabriel Medina (BRA)
17. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
18. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
19. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
20. Jadson Andre (BRA)
21. Heitor Alves (BRA)
22. Chris Davidson (AUS)
23. Brett Simpson (USA)
24. Dane Reynolds (USA)
25. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
26. Daniel Ross (AUS)
27. Yadin Nicol (AUS)
28. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
29. Dusty Payne (HAW)
30. Kai Otton (AUS)
31. Taylor Knox (USA)
32. Tiago Pires (PRT)
33. Travis Logie (ZAF) *surfer wildcard (next on ASP World rankings)
34. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) *surfer wildcard (injury)
1st Alternate: John John Florence (HAW)
2nd Alternate: Adam Melling (AUS)

The newly-minted ASP Top 34 will compete for the first time at the upcoming Hurley Pro at Trestles, Event No. 7 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season, from September 18 – 24, 2011.

When you reach the "End of the Road," you're all by yourself. Are you sure you're ready to get barreled at Tahiti's infamous Teahupoo?

+ Bodyboarding News

Isaac Thomas owns an interesting collection of rare skimboarding DVDs. They document the evolution of the sport since the turn of the millennium.

+ Skimboarding News

Cory Teunissen and Sean Silveira have taken out the third stop on the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), in Mooresville, North Carolina.

+ Wakeboarding News