Mark Mathews: the photographer is better than you, right now | Photo: Ray Collins

Ray Collins has taken the winning photograph of the 2012 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year. Collins has captured Mark Mathews in a strange close-out curtain available at a dangerous wave.

The winner of the prestigious trophy was announced at the Australian Surfing Awards, held at Manly. Ray Collins had four photographs in the shortlist.

The 20 finalists, chosen by Nikon, included snappers Bill Morris, Brad Masters, Peter Joli Wilson, John Respondek, Troy Simpson, Ray Collins, Russell Ord, Luke Shadbolt, Simon Williams, Mark Onorati, Andy Chiz, Andrew Shield and Jon Wright.

Actually, Ray Collins ended up taking the first, second and third place of the 2012 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year. "A career highlight for sure", wrote Collins on his Facebook page.

The Nikon Surf Photo of the Year is a prestigious award recognising the "best of the best" in the Australian surfing photography industry. Previous winners have included Jon Frank, Peter 'Joli' Wilson, Stuart Gibson and Jeremy Wilmotte whose images are published and recognised around the world.

The photo can be taken anywhere around the world by an Australian photographer and can be drawn from action, water, lifestyle, lineup or portrait photography.

Are you on a week-long beach holiday? Have you bought bodyboard for your kid? Smart move. Get ready to introduce your offspring to the waves easily and safely. It is going to be fun.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News

Nico von Lerchenfeld has had the time of his life at Surf Snowdonia, in Wales. But he was not there to surf.

+ Wakeboarding News