Oney Anwar: talented and humble

Oney Anwar has taken out the 2013 Oakley Pro Bali Trials, at Keramas, and secured a ticket to the main event where he will battle Jordy Smith and Matt Wilkinson.

One of Indonesia's most promising talents, Anwar defeated Putra Hermawan in the final, staged in 2-3 foot waves at Keramas, leaving his opponent requiring a near perfect score of 9.10 on the siren.

Oney attended Palm Beach Currumbin High School, in Australia's Gold Coast, and was apart of the schools sports excellence program.

Over his four-year tour in Australia, the village boy from remote Indonesia learned to surf in colder conditions and cope with long periods away from his home.

Meanwhile, the world’s best surfers have arrived in Bali, prepared to battle one another at the world-class venues of Keramas and Canggu. A good swell is predicted for the first days of the waiting period.

Bruce Irons, 33, former ASP WCT competitor and winner of the 2008 Rip Curl Pro Search Bali, will compete as a wildcard in the Oakley Pro Bali. He is ready to roll.

"I love Bali and Keramas is one of the best waves in the world. Hopefully it turns on for us. The guys on Tour today are no joke. There are no easy draws. I’m just going to do my best", says Irons.

2013 Oakley Pro Bali Round 1:

Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 2: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Oney Anwar (IND)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Damien Hobgood (USA), Jack Robinson (AUS)
Heat 7: Nat Young (USA), Kai Otton (AUS), Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 9: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 10: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Julian Wilson (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Sebastian Zietz (HAW), John John Florence (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA)

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) approved surfing's qualification system for the Tokyo 2020.

+ Surfing News

Thirty Formula GPS kiteboarders battled it out on the mountains of the Alto Sangro, Italy, for the second leg of 2018 IKA Snowkite World Cup.

+ Kiteboarding News

Jarryd Wingfield, one of the most talented bodyboarders in the United Kingdom, has taken his own life. He was battling depression.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News