Mick Fanning: go for it, boy

The Billabong Pro Tahiti 2013 is ready to go at the world-famous, lefthand reed pass of Teahupoo.

Gentlemen, tune your fins. The second half of the 2013 ASP World Championship Tour season is being played from August 15th-26th, in the largest island in the Windward group of French Polynesia.

Mick Fanning 32, leads the ASP Top 34 as the current frontrunner. He has had solid results in Tahiti, and is ready to secure first place in the fast tube rides of Teahupoo, where there's no room for error.

"Tahiti is a place where I have put a lot of focus on in my career. When I first started out on tour, my forehand was definitely stronger than my backhand and I made it a point to come to place like Teahupoo in my free time to build a stronger backhand tube-riding approach", explains Fanning.

Kelly Slater, 41, has all the stats on his side. Having competed in 51 heats, Slater has won 41 challenges, which means a 80.39% winning percentage. The Floridian has never lost a final in Teahupoo.

Reigning ASP world champion Joel Parkinson is hungry to prove that he is still chasing a second consecutive title by winning in Tahiti.

"When I look back at last year's Teahupo’o event, it kills me. I felt like I did everything right that I needed to do and it just crushed me to come so close and get second. My one goal moving ahead is to win Teahupoo", says Parkinson.

Withdraws from the Billabong Pro Tahiti 2013 include Owen Wright, Glenn Hall, Tiago Pires, Dusty Payne and Raoni Monteiro.

Alain Riou and Anthony Walsh (Trial wildcards, Patrick Gudauskas and Yadin Nicol (ASP replacements), Nathan Hedge, Jocelyn Poulou and Ian Walsh (event replacements) will join the main event.

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2013 Round 1 Match-Ups:

Nat Young (USA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Taj Burrow (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Nathan Hedge (AUS)
Jordy Smith (ZAF), Travis Logie (ZAF), Alan Riou (PYF)
Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Anthony Walsh (AUS)
Kelly Slater (USA), Brett Simpson (USA), Ian Walsh (HAW)
Mick Fanning (AUS), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Jocelyn Poulou (PYF)
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Michel Bourez (PYF), Kai Otton (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Josh Kerr (AUS), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
C.J. Hobgood (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Julian Wilson (AUS), John John Florence (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Damien Hobgood (USA)

August 3, 2016, was a day that surfers should never forget. For the first time in its long history, surfing was confirmed in the Olympic Games.

+ Surfing News

Is your bodyboard heavier than you think it should be? Are you unsure whether there's water in your boogie board? Here's how to check if you're board is soaked.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News

The Wakesurf Edge Pro Shaper promises the biggest and longest wake wave in the world.

+ Wakeboarding News