Adriano de Souza trains hard for the Billabong Rio Pro 2013

May 6, 2013 | Surfing
Adriano de Souza: barrel time in the Mentawai Islands

The stage of the Billabong Rio Pro 2013 is set. The waves of Arpoador and Barra da Tijuca are ready to serve as ramp for the world's best surfers.

One month is a long time. Pro surfers are finally returning to competition, after the double commitment in Australian waters. Are they fit? Have they trained enough? The Billabong Rio Pro 2013 will test the 30 days of competitive abstinence.

Hometown hero Adriano de Souza is getting ready for Rio event, following his historic win at the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach. De Souza sits at number 4 on the ASP World Tour and is looking to carry his momentum to Brazil, in hopes to make a push for an inaugural world title.

"Winning Bells was really emotional, and it's really inspirational to be back here an see my friends. I'm happy to be from here and it makes me value and enjoy everything I have today. If you come from the favela, you give it everything you have", explains Adriano de Souza.

"I saw examples from the soccer guys who turned pro and knew I could do it with surfing if I put in the hard work. When I became a pro surfer, it allowed me to bring my family to a better place".

The Brazilian surf star has been spending time with the family and training in the Mentawai Islands with fellow countryman Miguel Pupo.

"For me, going to Indonesia was good preparation before heading back to Brazil. It allows you to surf good waves and increase your performance. I've been surfing six or seven hours a day"

The Billabong Rio Pro is set to unfold from May 8th-19th, 2013. John John Florence, Fredrick Patacchia and Tiago Pires are out due to injury. Two spots have been awarded to Patrick Gudauskas and Yadin Nicol.

Billabong Rio Pro 2013 | Round 1

Heat 1: Josh Kerr (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), TBD
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), TBD
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), TBD
Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 8: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Nat Young (USA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 9: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Kai Otton (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 12: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Owen Wright (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: