Alex Botelho rode Portugal's "Paddle In Wave of the Year"

September 20, 2017 | Surfing
Alex Botelho: a familiar face in the Nazaré line-up | Photo: Aleixo/WSL

Alex Botelho won the "Paddle In Wave of the Year" at the 2017 EDP Mar Sem Fim Awards.

The Portuguese big wave surfing elite gathered to celebrate the most extreme rides of the season. After narrowing 87 entries to 20 nominations, the event finally crowned four new division champions.

On December 12, 2016, Alex Botelho paddled into a giant wall of water at Nazaré's Praia do Norte. The judges considered it to be the wave of the year by a Portuguese athlete.

The "Tow In Wave of the Year" went to João Guedes, a young surfer from Porto. He also found a huge, blue left-hand gem in Nazaré.

Big Wave Tour campaigner, João de Macedo, enjoyed the "Tube Ride of the Year" at Baixa da Viola, in the Azores, a spot that is still taking its first steps in the XXL surfing scene.

Last but not least, Nic Von Rupp suffered the "Wipeout of the Year" for an unfinished ride at the mother of all big waves - Nazaré.

The EDP Mar Sem Fim (Endless Sea) is big wave surfing program that supports the exploration of uncharted spots in Portuguese waters. The project also supports Portuguese surfers who seek and score the largest swells of the season.

2017 EDP Mar Sem Fim Awards | Winners

Paddle In Wave of the Year: Alex Botelho
Tow-In Wave of the Year: João Guedes
Tube Ride of the Year: João de Macedo
Wipeout of the Year: Nic Von Rupp uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.