All set for Drug Aware Margaret River Pro 2015

April 12, 2015 | Surfing
Michel Bourez: ready to fight for his title | Photo: ASP

The Drug Aware Margaret River Pro 2015 is the third stop on the World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT). Michel Bourez is the defending event champion, but he will be under pressure in Western Australia, between 15th-26th April.

The region offers world-class waves in breathtaking breaks, but Margaret River only hit the Dream Tour level for both the men and women, in 2014. And this year, there's one surfer who is really looking forward to reach the final.

"Margaret River is such a good wave, and I think it's better than Bells Beach, so I'm looking for a good result over there," says Gabriel Medina, who wants to improve his performances.

"There's only been two events so far and after a good result in Bells I hope that continues and I can fight for the title at the end of the year."

There are multiple site options for the Drug Aware Margaret River Pro. Main Break at Margaret River is a lefthand and righthand reef break that can produce excellent waves from 2-to-20 feet.

Across the bay from Main Break is the infamous righthand slab called The Box, and if things get really big out west, the world-famous North Point righthander is a bold choice.

Alejo Muniz, current no. two on the Qualifying Series, has been selected as the wildcard for the event. Meanwhile, nine local surfers will compete in the Trials but only one will join the Top 34.

Drug Aware Margaret River Pro Men's Round 1 Matchups:

John John Florence (HAW), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Jordy Smith (ZAF), Jadson Andre (BRA), Brett Simpson (USA)
Kelly Slater (USA), Kai Otton (AUS), Ricardo Christie (NZL)
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Freddy Patacchia Jr. (HAW), Alejo Muinz (BRA)
Mick Fanning (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), TBD
Josh Kerr (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Keanue Asing (HAW)
Filipe Toledo (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Taj Burrow (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Michel Bourez (PYF), Nat Young (USA), Italo Ferreira (BRA)
Owen Wright (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS), Matt Banting (AUS)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019