American junior surfers triumph in Japan

October 2, 2017 | Surfing
Alyssa Spencer: she won the gold medal in the Girls Under 16 division | Photo: ISA

Team USA won the 2017 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, held at Okuragahama Beach, in Hyuga, Japan.

The American junior surfing team secured six medals and reconquered the overall title conquered in 2015. But the Japanese can also celebrate, as they snatched a gold and a silver medal. 

The gold medal in the Boys Under 18 division went to Ignacio Gundesen. The surfer from Argentina also made history for his country by winning the most coveted individual title.

"I am so happy to win this! I am so proud that I've earned a top eight spot for my country to compete in the ISA Aloha Cup next year. I couldn't have done this without my team. This is for them. This is for Argentina," expressed Gundesen.

Brisa Hennessy made the Hawaiians proud of their flag. The experienced surfer won the Girls Under 18 division and helped her State finish runner-up in the competition.

"I am so happy and grateful. My team worked so hard this week. I would tell young girls that are aspiring professional surfers at home to enjoy it and have fun. The best surfers out there are the ones having fun and enjoying the sport," added Hennessy.

Joh Azuchi sealed the deal in the Boys Under 16 final and raised the gold medal in front of thousands of Japanese supporters. With a near-Perfect 20 heat, Alyssa Spencer smashed her opponents and pushed Team USA to victory in the event.

"This has been my dream since I started surfing. I can't believe it's actually true. I'm speechless. I would be so honored to represent the USA in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, but I know it will take a lot of hard work because there are so many girls that rip," concluded Spencer.

2017 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship | Medal Winners

Team Standings
1. USA
2. Hawaii
3. Japan
4. Australia
5. France
6. Brazil
7. Costa Rica
8. Argentina
9. Portugal
10. New Zealand

Boys U-18
1. Ignacio Gundesen (ARG)
2. Noah Hill (USA)
3. Cody Young (HAW)
4. Dylan Moffat (AUS)

Girls U-18
1. Brisa Hennessy (HAW)
2. Leilani McGonagle (CRC)
3. Summer Macedo (HAW)
4. Kirra Pinkerton (USA)

Boys U-16
1. Joh Azuchi (JPN)
2. Taro Watanabe (USA)
3. Keanu Chris Kamiyama (JPN)
4. Lucas Vicente (BRA)

Girls U-16
1. Alyssa Spencer (USA)
2. Keala Tomoda-Bannert (HAW)
3. Samantha Sibley (USA)
4. Gabriela Bryan (HAW) uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.