Are you ready for the 2017 Billabong Pipe Masters?

December 8, 2017 | Surfing
Gabriel Medina: can he beat Florence and win the world title? | Photo: Cestari/WSL

Who will be crowned 2017 World Surf League (WSL) champion? John John Florence, Gabriel Medina, Jordy Smith or Julian Wilson?

The elite of surfing is ready to wrap up the season with one of the most anticipated events of the year. The 2017 Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons will decide the winner of the Championship Tour and the conqueror of the Triple Crown of Surfing.

Only four surfers remain in contention to claim the world surfing title, but only one athlete depends on his performance at Banzai Pipeline to raise the most prestigious trophy in the sport - John John Florence.

"There's definitely a little bit of pressure, but I'm more excited than anything. I think it's going to be cool. It's such an awesome position to be in, going into this last event with four guys going for the world title race," said the Hawaiian prodigy.

If Florence makes it to the final, he will be crowned world champion. And because Pipeline is a wave he knows very well, he might have a slight advantage over his fellow title campaigners.

"I'm going to go out there, and I'm going to do my best. I've been surfing this wave since I was a little kid and I enjoy being out there with no one out, so we'll see what happens."

The world title scenarios aren't complicated. Here's the math you'll need to know:

1. If Florence finishes first or second at Pipeline he will clinch the world title;
2. If Florence gets a third, Medina will need a first at Pipe to win the world title;
3. If Florence finishes fifth, Medina will need a first at Pipe to win the world title;
4. If Florence gets a ninth, Medina will need a second, Smith a first to win the world title;
5. If Florence finishes 13th or 25th, Medina will need a fifth, Smith a second and Wilson a first to win the world title;

The Pipe Invitational will determine the two wildcards that will get a chance to compete in the main event. The 2017 Billabong Pipe Masters runs from December 8-12 on the North Shore of Oahu, in Hawaii.

Billabong Pipe Masters | Round 1 Match-Ups

Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Owen Wright (AUS), Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS)
Julian Wilson (AUS), Conner Coffin (USA), Stuart Kennedy (AUS)
Jordy Smith (ZAF), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Ethan Ewing (AUS)
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), TBD
John John Florence (HAW), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), TBD
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Kolohe Andino (USA), Joan Duru (FRA), Kelly Slater (USA)
Filipe Toledo (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Ian Gouveia (BRA)
Joel Parkinson (AUS), Connor O'Leary (AUS), Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
Mick Fanning (AUS), Frederico Morais (PRT), Italo Ferreira (BRA)

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2019 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers