Aritz Aranburu wins 2017 Billabong Pro Tahiti Trials

August 11, 2017 | Surfing
Aritz Aranburu: a Teahupoo specialist | Photo: Kirstin/WSL

Aritz Aranburu conquered the 2017 Billabong Pro Tahiti Trials, at Teahupoo.

The Spanish surfer defeated Nathan Edge in a final held in challenging ocean and weather conditions. Despite the absence of the classic Teahupoo barrels, all 32 trialists gave their best to earn a spot in the main event.

"It's a dream come true," expressed Aritz Aranburu, a former Championship Tour (CT) campaigner. He will face Matt Wilkinson and Wiggolly Dantas in Round 1 of the competition.

Local talent Taumata Puhetini fell in the semifinals, but he was the best Tahitian surfer and also earns a ticket to the most dangerous surf contest on the planet.

No Tahitian has ever won the Billabong Pro Tahiti. The best result was Manoa Drollet's runner-up finish in 2008. The main event runs from August 11-22, at the End of the Road.

2017 Billabong Pro Tahiti Trials | Final

1. Aritz Aranburu (SPA) 13.43
2. Nathan Edge (AUS) 13.33

2017 Billabong Pro Tahiti | Round 1 Match-Ups

Joel Parkinson (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Nat Young (USA)
Owen Wright (AUS), Italo Ferreira (BRA), Josh Kerr (AUS)
Jordy Smith (ZAF), Joan Duru (FRA), Ethan Ewing (AUS)
John John Florence (HAW), Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Taumata Puhetini (PYF)
Filipe Toledo (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Julian Wilson (AUS), Conner Coffin (USA), Kanoa Igarashi (USA)
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Stu Kennedy (AUS)
Connor O'Leary (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
Mick Fanning (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Frederico Morais (PRT), Michel Bourez (PYF), Ian Gouveia (BRA) uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.