ASP stars of the waves crowned in Australia

February 22, 2008 | Surfing

ASP Awards 2008

The atmosphere was electric this evening as the world’s best surfers converged on the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre for the ASP World Champion’s Crowning, honoring a bevy of last season’s accomplishments from athletes across all disciplines of the sport of surfing.

Headlining the evening was the official crowning of ASP World Champion Mick Fanning (AUS) and ASP Women’s World Champion Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) whose reception was met with a feverish response from the hundreds in attendance.

The titles mark the first for both the Gold Coast surfers, with Fanning claiming his after six seasons on the ASP World Tour and Gilmore making ASP history by attaining surfing’s ultimate honor in just one year amongst the elite.

Joining Fanning in the ASP World Tour accolades were ASP World Tour Runner-Up Taj Burrow (AUS), ASP World Tour Rookie of the Year Jeremy Flores (FRA) and ASP World Tour Most Improved surfer Bede Durbidge (AUS).

Gilmore was flanked by fellow ASP Top 17 competitors Sofia Mulanovich (PER), who collected the ASP Women’s World Tour Runner-Up award, and Silvana Lima (BRA), who took home the ASP Women’s World Tour Most Improved award.  Gilmore also claimed the honor of 2007 ASP Women’s World Tour Rookie of the Year.

Former ASP World Junior Champion Jordy Smith (ZAF) was honored as the 2007 ASP WQS men’s winner along with veteran elite tour campaigner Jacqueline Silva (BRA) who took out the women’s ASP WQS.

Phil Rajzman (BRA) and Jennifer Smith (USA) were both honored as the 2007 ASP World Longboarding and ASP Women’s World Longboarding Champions following major wins in Brazil and France respectively.

The reigning ASP World Junior Champions were also crowned with Pablo Paulino (BRA) and Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) being recognized for their impressive victories at the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships in Narrabeen last January.

The evening was capped off with ASP’s announcement of the “Peter Whittaker Award” for outstanding service and contribution to the sport of surfing.  Whittaker, who served as Tour Manager, COO and CEO for ASP International before passing away in 2006, was invaluable to the progression of the sport of surfing, and the reward is reflective of his integrity, passion, respect and achievement. 

Mark Occhilupo (AUS), who claimed the ASP World Title in 1999 and has been an icon within the sport of surfing for the past three decades, was emotionally honored with the award tonight to the emphatic and heartfelt applause from the hundreds in attendance. 

The ASP World Champion’s Crowning Banquet has come just before the start of the 2008 ASP World Tour and ASP Women’s World Tour seasons.  Both the Quiksilver and Roxy Pros pres. by LG begin their waiting period on Saturday, Feb. 22, 2008.


2007 ASP World Champion: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2007 ASP World Tour Runner-Up: Taj Burrow (AUS)
2007 ASP World Tour Rookie of the Year: Jeremy Flores (FRA)
2007 ASP World Tour Most Improved: Bede Durbidge (AUS)
2007 ASP Women’s World Champion: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2007 ASP Women’s World Tour Runner-Up: Sofia Mulanovich (PER)
2007 ASP Women’s World Tour Rookie of the Year: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2007 ASP Women’s World Tour Most Improved: Silvana Lima (BRA)
2007 ASP Longboard Champion: Phil Rajzman (BRA)
2007 ASP Women’s World Longboard Champion: Jennifer Smith (USA)
2007 ASP World Junior Champion: Pablo Paulino (BRA)
2007 ASP Women’s World Junior Champion: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)

ASP Peter Whittaker Award: Mark Occhilupo (AUS)

Source: ASP World Tour

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: