Australia prepares 22 future World Tour surfers

March 15, 2012 | Surfing
Felicity Palmateer: preparing for world domination

The most promising junior surfers in Australia will have access to expert surf training and guidance thanks to an advanced program supported by the Federal Government.

Twenty two male and female surfers will have the opportunity to get the most out of at-event support, strength and conditioning preparation, video analysis and remote monitoring through an online application called Kinetic Athlete.

The quest is simple: qualify for the elite World Tour. The program has been designed so that surfers are supported in every possible scenario whether they are training, injured, at events domestically or even internationally.

The launch of the Surfing Australia High Performance Scholarship Program aims the best wave riders of the ASP Australasia Pro Junior and ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS).

"The program is part of our ongoing strategy of expanding our High Performance athlete pathway so that our junior surfers have every opportunity of one day making the World Tour", said Surfing Australia CEO Andrew Stark.

"It will take 2-3 years before we see the lasting effects of this program but we are hopeful that from this crop of exciting young surfers we will eventually see the next Mick Fanning or Stephanie Gilmore emerge," Stark said.

"Once our new state of the art, surf specific training facility the Hurley Surfing Australia High Performance Centre is finished construction in June of this year at Casuarina, these athletes will not only have the expertise of our experienced staff at their disposal but a brand new world class facility to use as their base as well".

The 2012 scholarship recipients include Dean Bowen, Cooper Chapman, Wade Carmichael, Jordin Watson, Lincoln Taylor, Dion Atkinson, Thomas Woods, Jake Sylvester, Connor O'Leary, Tim Macdonald, Harrison Mann, Davey Cathels.

Female surfers are Felicity Palmateer, Codie Klein, Chiana Ireland, Dimity Stoyle, Skye Burgess, Nikki Van Dijk, Philippa Anderson, Kirsten Ogden, Bronte Macaulay, Naomi Stevic.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: