Australia's top Boardriding Clubs ready for the 25th Rip Curl Kirra Teams Challenge

February 19, 2009 | Surfing

Rip Curl Kirra Teams Challenge

Australia’s top Boardriding Clubs have converged onto the Gold Coast for the 25th anniversary year of Australia’s most prestigious, largest and longest running Boardriding Club national event – The Rip Curl Kirra Teams Challenge.

Right on time these clubs have fallen into the Gold Coast seasons first official cyclone swell with Tropical Cyclone Innis pushing in a near perfect 4ft easterly swell onto the Gold Coast points and beaches and the surfers are simply loving the warm up conditions before tomorrow’s official start.

Defending champions and host club Kirra will again be the team to beat, particularly with the current swell conditions but like every year, the depth and talent from the visiting clubs who come in from all over Australia is super strong and whoever takes the title will join a long list of outstanding clubs - The past three years have seen different champions with Le-Ba (Lennox/Ballina) successful in 2007 and Byron Bay the champions of 2006.

This years event encompasses thirty six Boardriding clubs which includes one boardriding club from Bali with a competitive total of 288 surfers across all clubs.

Just a small sample of the  outstanding talents expected to line up for their beloved clubs this weekend include Adam Melling, Stuart Kennedy, James Wood (Le-Ba), Asher Pacey, Corey Ziems, Clancy Dawson, Jesse Allen, Mitch Hayes, Jack Freestone and  Dale Richards (Kirra) along with numerous others from across Australia.

Club passion will be at it’s highest for a full long weekend on the Gold Coast southern end beaches and whoever wins this years Rip Curl Kirra Teams Challenge will have earnt a distinguished place in Australian Club surfing history along with the major stake in the $12 000 prize pool!