Beautiful barrels blossom at the Oakley Pro Bali 2013

June 25, 2013 | Surfing
Oakley Pro Bali: the land of ramps

Perfect barreling six-to-eight foot (2 – 2.5 metre) waves kicked in for Round 3 of the Oakley Pro Bali 2013, at Keramas, Indonesia.

Beautiful airs and powerful turns invaded the Keramas wave tracks, as the event's original 36-man field got reduced to the final 12. Without Gabriel Medina and Jordy Smith.

Joel Parkinson put on a clinic in his morning bout against an on-fire Damien Hobgood, amassing an excellent 18.60 out of a possible 20 for flawless barrel-riding and searing carves.

"That was really really fun. We had non-stop waves for the heat and were just going back-and-forth on exchanges. The conditions this morning were absolutely incredible – sheet glass and big barrels. You can't really ask for much more", tells Parkinson.

John John Florence once again teed off against fellow Hawaiian Sebastian Zietz, and used his preternatural barrel sense and progressive power surfing to take the win and advance into Round 3.

"Sebastian and I have had a lot of heats together lately. He's a couple of years older than me and he's a really strong surfer. Unfortunately for Bass, he broke his board on his opening wave and I think that put him out of rhythm for the rest of the heat", says Florence.

Kelly Slater followed suit with a win over local standout Putra Hermawan, but one that was a departure from the icon's characteristic dominance in similar conditions.

"I was lucky that he didn't end up taking advantage of them. When it's stop and go like that, you have to use what you have so I ended up taking a lot of smaller waves and building some medium scores", added Slater.

Adriano de Souza is the only Brazilian surfer in competition, Michel Bourez eliminated Gabriel Medina and Fredrick Patacchia defeated Jordy Smith.

Oakley Pro Bali 2013 | Round 4

Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Joel Parkinson (AUS)
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS), John John Florence (HAW), Kelly Slater (USA)
Heat 3: Mick Fanning (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS), Nat Young (USA)
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)


SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: