Big barrells ridden at the 2012 Billabong Pipe Masters

December 9, 2012 | Surfing
Sebastian Ziets: Hawaiian wave dominator

The 2012 Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons saw six-to-eight foot (two-metre) waves at Pipeline, for the opening Round 1 of competition.

The third jewel of the Triple Crown of Surfing will crown a world champion. Kieren Perrow is up and riding to defend his Pipe Masters title. The Australian defeated Evan Valiere, a local star.

"That felt like a final," Perrow said. "I was expecting Evan to pull off some bombs. He's an unreal surfer out here. We were out of position on those sets, but I'm glad we were and he wasn't in position".

Surfboards have already suffered the weight of Banzai Pipeline. Shane Dorian sealed the day's highest single-wave score of 9.17 point, but smashed on of his favorite sticks.

"I broke my old faithful, I was bummed about that, but I just got spanked out there. It’s all good though, that’s what they’re for", said big wave specialist Shane Dorian.

Sebastian Zietz, leader of the 2012 Vans Triple Crown rankings, took a Round 1 win over fellow wildcard Glenn Hall.

"I guess the thing that stuck out most in my mind in that heat was my wipeout," Zietz said. "The thing just mowed me down. I found a couple of open ones in the end, so thank you Pipeline"

2012 Billabong Pipe Masters | Round 1 Results

Heat 1: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 15.00 def. Evan Valiere (HAW) 9.50
Heat 2: Kolohe Andino (USA) 6.50 def. Tyler Newton (HAW) 6.26
Heat 3: Kalani Chapman (HAW) 15.83 def. Tiago Pires (PRT) 5.70
Heat 4: Yadin Nicol (AUS) 15.33 def. Flynn Novak (HAW) 9.76
Heat 5: Fred Patacchia (HAW) 8.43 def. Tanner Hendrickson (HAW) 5.93
Heat 6: Billy Kemper (HAW) 11.00 def. Taylor Knox (USA) 10.17
Heat 7: Adam Melling (AUS) 11.66 def. Bruce Irons (HAW) 7.73
Heat 8: Jamie O’Brien (HAW) 16.34 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 9.94
Heat 9: Shane Dorian (HAW) 14.50 def. Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 9.83
Heat 10: Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) 14.73 def. Dusty Payne (HAW) 7.84
Heat 11: Dane Reynolds (USA) 11.34 def. Granger Larsen (HAW) 3.10
Heat 12: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 14.27 def. Glenn Hall (IRL) 10.77

2012 Billabong Pipe Masters | Round 2 Results

Heat 1: Kalani Chapman (HAW) 13.84 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 10.60
Heat 2: Billy Kemper (HAW) 9.33 def. Michel Bourez (PYF) 5.04
Heat 3: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 15.17 def. Jamie O’Brien (HAW) 13.57