Big wave riders will converge in the Rip Curl Invitational at Padang Padang

July 31, 2009 | Surfing

Rip Curl Invitational at Padang Padang

An elite group of high-stakes tube riders is set to gather at Bali’s most revered wave this weekend. The opening ceremony for the Rip Curl Cup Invitational at Padang Padang will he held on Saturday, Aug. 1, the first day of the month-long event waiting period.

Rip Curl International team riders Dean Brady (Australia), Bruno Santos (Brazil) and Koa Smith (Hawaii) are slated to compete in the event along with such international stars as Bruce Irons (Hawaii), Ry Craike (Australia) and Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii).

All 32 surfers invited to compete in this year’s event will be on hand Saturday for the official heat drawing ceremony. Each surfer will choose a number out of a hat to determine who he will surf against in the opening round. Once the draw has been set, it’s simply a matter of waiting for a massive Indian Ocean swell to stir the mythical wave at Padang to life. Following is the official list of invited surfers.

International surfers: Bruce Irons (Hawaii), Mikala Jones (Hawaii), Dean Brady (Australia), Bruno Santos (Brazil), Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii), Ryan Turner (California), Timmy Turner (California), Koa Smith (Hawaii), Ry Craike (Australia), Koby Abberton (Australia), Takayuki Wakita (Japan), Marlon Gerber (Switzerland) and Danny Fuller (Hawaii).

Indonesian surfers: Made “Bol” Adi Putra, Rizal Tanjung, Pepen Hendrik, Wayan “Betet” Merta, Garut Widiarta, Lee Wilson, Dede Suryana, I Komang “GoGo” Sujaya, Made Lana, Wayan “Gobleg” Suyadnya, Made Lapur, Ketut “Mega” Yoga Semadhi, Raditya Rhondi, Rahtu Suargita, Tipi Jabrik and Mustofa Jekson.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: