Big wave surfers ready for large South American swell

June 27, 2014 | Surfing
South America: swell on the way

The Quiksilver Ceremonial Punta de Lobos 2014, in Chile, is on yellow alert, as a 30-foot ocean swell heads towards South America.

The newly-created ASP Big Wave World Tour (BWWT) has announced that the Chilean contest, as well as the Billabong Pico Alto, in Peru, are on yellow alert, with a large swell moving northeast from Antarctica. Chack the wave height forecast for the region.

"If the elements continue to align, we'll declare a start to this year's first big-wave competition. Currently, we have a few options with this swell: run in Chile, run in Peru, run in both or run in neither," explains Peter Mel, ASP Deputy Commissioner.

"Our goal is always to put the world's best big wave surfers in the world's best big waves and Mother Nature ultimately makes this call. There are a lot of moving parts to these events, and we have a great team behind us in preparing for South America."

The green light will give 48 hours for surfers to travel to the venue. Surf forecasters believe that the swell will rapidly build into central Chile late on the 1st July, with peak day at Punta de Lobos on the 2nd, with face sizes easily exceeding the minimum requirements of 30 feet.

The 2014/2015 BWWT season is divided into Southern Hemisphere and Northern Hemisphere components hosting three possible events within each. The Southern Hemisphere window runs from April 15 to August 31, 2014 with event options in Chile, Peru and South Africa.

The Northern Hemisphere window runs from October 15th, 2014 to February 28th, 2015 with event options in Mexico, the Basque Region of Spain, and Maui.

The 24-man fields for the Quiksilver Ceremonial Chile and the Billabong Pico Alto will be comprised of the ASP BWWT Top 12, led by reigning world champion Grant "Twiggy" Baker, as well as six ASP wildcards and six local wildcards.

ASP Top 12:
1. Grant Baker (ZAF)
2. Ken Collins (USA)
3. Nic Lamb (USA)
4. Shawn Dollar (USA)
5. Kohl Christensen (HAW)
6. Alex Gray (USA)
7. Greg Long (USA)
8. Ryan Augestein (USA)
9. Anthony Tashnick (USA)
10. Ramon Navarro (CHL)
11. Jamie Mitchell (AUS)
12. Tyler Fox (USA)

ASP BWWT Chile Wildcards:
1. Kelly Slater (USA)
2. Damien Hobgood (USA)
3. Mark Healey (HAW)
4. Nathan Fletcher (USA)
5. Marcos Monteiro (BRA)
6. Gabriel Villaran (PER)

Local Chile Wildcards:
1. Diego Medina
2. Christian Morello
3. Fernando Zegers
4. Mekis Federico
5. Reinaldo Ibarra
6. Rafael Tapia

ASP BWWT Peru Wildcards:
1. Kelly Slater (USA)
2. Ben Wilkinson (AUS)
3. Makua Rothman (HAW)
4. Jamie Sterling (HAW)
5. Carlos Burle (BRA)
6. Gabriel Villaran (PER)

Local Peru Wildcards:
1. Miguel Tudela
2. Rafael Velarde
3. Kodiak Semsch
4. Tamil Martino
5. Alejo Loret del Mola
6. Renzo Zazzali

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2019 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers