Big Wave World Tour 2014/2015 enters Northern Hemisphere swell cycle

October 16, 2014 | Surfing
Punta Galea, Spain: Jamie Mitchell draws a high line | Photo: ASP/Robertson

The second half of the 2014/2015 Big Wave World Tour (BWWT) has kicked off on the 15th October and runs through February 28th, 2015.

The competitions on the Southern Hemisphere are over. As a result, only one event has been run. The Billabong Pico Alto crowned Makua Rothman in 40-foot waves.

Now, all hopes are on the Northern Hemisphere swell cycle, which basically means winter season in Mexico (Todos Santos), Spain (Punta Galea) and Hawaii (Peahi/Jaws).

"The green light will go to the first one of the three events to deliver the required 25 foot plus waves. Punta Galea has been very consistent two years in a row while we have not run an event at Todos Santos for four years," explains Gary Linden, vice-president of the BWWT.

"I'm confident that Punta Galea will continue its great run and hopeful that this will be the year Todos Santos delivers. To round out the season with a never before seen paddle-in event at Peahi, Maui is the goal of a lifetime. Let the storms begin!"

The 24-man fields for the Northern Hemisphere events are comprised of the Top 12 seeded BWWT surfers plus six BWWT wildcards and six local wildcards.

Top 12 BWWT Surfers:
Grant Baker (ZAF)
Ken Collins (USA)
Nic Lamb (USA)
Shawn Dollar (USA)
Kohl Christensen (HAW)
Alex Gray (USA)
Ryan Augenstein (USA)
Anthony Tashnick (USA)
Ramon Navarro (PER)
Jamie Mitchell (AUS)
Tyler Fox (USA)

ASP BWWT Wildcards:
Kelly Slater (USA)
Mark Healey (HAW)
Shane Dorian (HAW)
Dave Wassel (HAW)
Makua Rothman (HAW)
Gabriel Villaran (PER)

Pe'ahi Challenge Wildcards:
Ian Walsh (HAW)
Billy Kemper (HAW)
Albee Layer (HAW)
Shawn Walsh (HAW)
Kai Lenny (HAW)
Tyler Larronde (HAW)

Todos Santos Challenge Wildcards:
Derek Dunfee
Rusty Long
Nic Vaughan
Coco Nogales
Diego Petrusso
Vincent Yazbeck

Punta Galea Challenge Wildcards:
Adur Letamendia (ESP)
David Bustamante (ESP)
Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Naxto Gonzalez (ESP)
Indar Unanue (ESP)
Jon Garai (ESP)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: