Billy Stairmand crowned 2014 New Zealand National Surfing champion

January 18, 2014 | Surfing
Billy Stairmand: third New Zealand surfing title

Billy Stairmand claimed the 2014 New Zealand National Surfing Championships, at Kaiaua Bay.

The surfer from Raglan secures his third national surfing title, and Gisborne Boardriders take the overall team trophy, in five-foot wave conditions.

"I am stoked, I always get good results down here for some reason, there are always waves and heaps of the boys live down here so I like coming down", says Stairmand.

The winner of the Open Men's category finished the final with a 15.07-point heat total, leaving his opponents needing near perfect rides to match him.

"I saw this left out there all day and went out there and tried to get as many waves as possible. I almost got 15 waves and there were a couple of good ones in there", adds Billy Stairmand, who defeated Bobby Hansen, Maz and Jay Quinn.

In the Open Women's division, Grace Spiers claimed a well-deserved title. Placing second in the final was the local giant killer Abby Falwasser. Bianca Sansom and Alexis Poulter kept the remaining podium places.

"I wasn't expecting too much of myself at this event and I was actually thinking of not coming down to Gisborne and competing because of my arm that I broke late last year and I haven't been surfing for a bit", says Spiers. 

"I am so, so happy right now I cannot believe it, so stoked. I managed to get some good waves at the start and I stayed real hungry, I was lucky I did that because it got harder and harder to get waves out there” she added".

2014 New Zealand National Surfing Championships | Results

Open Men's
1. Billy Stairmand (Rag)
2. Bobby Hansen (Gis)
2. Maz Quinn (Gis)
3. Jay Quinn (Gis)

Open Women's
1. Grace Spiers (WGM)
2. Abby Falwasser (Gis)
3. Bianca Sansom (Auck)
4. Alexis Poulter (Rag)

Interclub Championship
1. Gisborne Boardriders
2. Whangamata Boardriders
3. Point Boardriders
4. New Plymouth Surfriders
5. Maori Bay Boardriders
6. Bay Boardriders
7. New Brighton Boardriders,
8. North Coast Boardriders
9. Orewa Boardriders
10. North Wai Boardriders