Brandon Sanford and Randy Vazquez brighten Dominican surfing

August 8, 2010 | Surfing

Northeast Surfing Championship 2010, in the Dominican Republic: small waves but plenty of action

The "Northeast Surfing Championship 2010" was held by the Dominican Surfing Federation (FEDOSURF) at Cayena Beach in Nagua, Dominican Republic over the weekend of July 31- August 1, and marks the fourth national competition in the 2010 ranking series.

The competition was attended by a large number of athlete surfers and bodyboarders from the towns of Puerto Plata, Cabarete, Sosua, Rio San Juan, Nagua, Las Terrenas, Santo Domingo and Bahoruco. The Athletes performance on the national circuit of competitions determines their ranking within the national team currently being formed to compete and represent the Dominican Republic at international events.

In the Open Surfing category, Brandon Sanford of Cabarete scored a first place win, followed by Junior Gomez of Rio San Juan in second place. Eduard ‘Papito’ Santana of Cabarete won third place and in fourth place was Leon Gough of Boca Chica (shaper of GOUGH Surf Boards). The champion received a surf board and all of the finalists were awarded with a cash prize.

For the Open Bodyboard division, among the finalists were, in first place Randy Vasquez, followed by Martin Perez in second, both from Nagua. Third place was won by Julfien Sims of Puerto Plata, followed by Nagua local Mauro Andretta in fourth. Finalists in this division were awarded with a cash prize, and the competitors in first and second place were also awarded bodyboards.

Surfing in the Junior division, first place was won by Daniel Santana of Cabarete, who competed and scored a first place win in two categories (Junior and Mini-Junior). In second place was Alex Encarnación of Las Terrenas (also competing and winning in two categories). Henry Bonilla and Isaac Croz, both from Cabarete were awarded with third and fourth. The champion of this division, Daniel Santana, was awarded a surfboard.

In the Mini Junior category, the champion was again Daniel Santana, followed by Alex Encarnación, Mark Anderes and Federico Dettori, of Las Terranas with second, third and fourth place wins respectively.

The Dominican Surfing Federation (FEDOSURF) implemented a new judging computer system, which is officially sanctioned by the International Surfing Association. The computer judging program elevates the level of competition by facilitating quick and accurate scoring, rapid calculations of numerous competition factors such as interference, raises the competitive level of the athlete surfers, and offers a dynamic experience for the spectators.


Open Surfing
1st - Brandon Sanford
2nd - Junior Gomez
3rd - Eduard ‘Papito’ Santana
4th - Leon Gough

Open Bodyboarding
1st - Randy Vasquez
2nd - Martin Perez
3rd - Julfien Sims
4th - Mauro Andretta

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019