Bruno Santos wins the 2016 Billabong Pro Tahiti Trials

August 16, 2016 | Surfing
Bruno Santos: Teahupoo is his second home | Photo: WSL

Bruno Santos has claimed the 2016 Billabong Pro Tahiti Trials, in six-foot surf at Teahupoo.

The Brazilian tube riding expert earned a ticket into the main event. Santos, who won the 2008 Billabong Pro Tahiti as a wildcard, defeated Nathan Hedge in the decisive heat.

"I am very happy. Teahupoo is like a second home. 'Hog' is my idol. We have a very similar style. He did really well in the last three years. The difference was luck because he was doing well the whole contest," said Bruno Santos.

The Brazilian will surf against Matt Wilkinson and Stu Kennedy in Round 1. Hira Teriinatofa, the best Tahitian of the Trials, has also earned a spot in the main event. He will compete against John John Florence and Davey Cathels.

The 2016 Billabong Pro Tahiti kicks off August 19th at Teahupoo. Matt Wilkinson is the number one surfer on World Surf League's Championship Tour rankings.

2016 Billabong Pro Tahiti Trials | Final

1. Bruno Santos (BRA) 13.10
2. Nathan Hedge (AUS) 12.67

2016 Billabong Pro Tahiti | Round 1 Matchups

Jordy Smith (ZAF), Dusty Payne (HAW), Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Italo Ferreira (BRA), Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Keanu Asing (HAW)
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Kai Otton (AUS)
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Conner Coffin (USA), Alex Ribeiro (BRA)
John John Florence (HAW), Davey Cathels (AUS), Hira Teriinatofa (TAH)
Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Bruno Santos (BRA)
Michel Bourez (PYF), Kelly Slater (USA), Matt Banting (AUS)
Julian Wilson (AUS), Nat Young (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Josh Kerr (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Adrian Buchan (AUS), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Caio Ibelli (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Filipe Toledo (BRA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: