Caio Ibelli and Leila Hurst are the 2012 world junior surfing champions

January 28, 2012 | Surfing
Leila Hurst and Caio Ibelli: the world junior champs

Caio Ibelli and Leila Hurst have taken the ASP World Junior titles at the Billabong World Junior Championships, in the Gold Coast, Australia.

The Men’s ASP World Junior Title race saw all the frontrunners bow out early today with Jack Freestone eliminated by Medi Veminardi and Ian Gouveia taken out by Wade Carmichael in the Quarterfinals.

Carmichael had a sensational outing at Burleigh Heads this week, gaining entry into the event with a win at the Von Zipper trials and then sticking it to the world’s best junior surfers with a win at the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships.

Garrett Parkes’s ousting in the Quarterfinals resulted in a tie with Caio Ibelli for the top spot on the ASP World Junior Title rankings, requiring a “Surf-Off” to determine the champion.

"I’m so stoked to bring the ASP World Junior Title back to Brazil!" Ibelli said. "I feel so amazing now! I didn’t know I had another opportunity to win, I just found out this morning. Garrett (Parkes) is a good surfer and he’s at home in Australia so I knew I had to do my best."

Leila Hurst was one of three surfers in the running for the ASP Women’s World Junior Title this morning, but was the last one standing after front-runner Joanne Defay lost her Quarterfinal clash.

Then Philippa Anderson bowed out of the race when she finished runner-up in the event, as she needed to win the final to claim the crown.

"I never want to be in that position again," Hurst said. "Watching a final and having no control over if I won the ASP World Title or if I lost. I was feeling so much pressure. I’m losing my mind right now, I never thought I had a chance to win this. I’ve only just started to do well in contests again after a run of bad results, so I had low self-esteem coming into this event. It’s feel great to see what winning feels like again."

The Brazilian and Hawaiian surfers join a prestigious list of former ASP World Junior Champions, including: Adriano De Souza, Joel Parkinson, Andy Irons, Jessi Miley-Dyer and Sally Fitzgibbons.

Wade Carmichael and Alessa Quizon were also amongst the winners today, taking out the third and final event of the ASP World Junior Title Series, the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships.

The top four surfers on the ASP World Junior Ratings get priority seeding into all ASP Prime and Star event in 2012.

1. Caio Ibelli (BRA)
2. Garrett Parkes (AUS)
3. Davey Cathels (AUS)
4. Jack Freestone (AUS)

2011 ASP World Junior Championships | Surf-off

Caio Ibelli (BRA) 14.74 def. Garrett Parkes (AUS) 14.00

Billabong World Junior Championships Gold Coast | Finals


Wade Carmichael (AUS) 11.17 def. Nathan Carvalho (HAW) 10.63


Alessa Quizon (HAW) 13.67 def. Philippa Anderson (AUS) 8.67