Carlos Burle and Maya Gabeira: Brazilians and XXL wave chargers

Carlos Burle is the new Big Wave World Tour (BWWT) champion.

The Brazilian rider is the first-ever surfer to be crowned with this title, as BWWT concludes its inaugural season. The 42-year-old big rider got very emotional in his acceptance speech.

"What we do out there is not easy. What we do is the biggest and most stressful thing in the world. We never know when it's going to happen. (...) And we have to deal with those monster waves. We are the most prepared human beings in the world", he stated.

Carlos Burle received his trophy at the Surfing Heritage Foundation, in San Clemente, California.

The first Big Wave World Tour (BWWT) was a four-stage competition: Quiksilver Ceremonial Punta de Lobos in Chile, the Billabong Pico Alto Invitational in Peru, the Maverick's Surf Contest in California, and Todos Santos Big Wave Event in Mexico.

In the next challenge will add the Nelscott Reef Contest to the list of events.

2009/2010 Big Wave World Tour| Final Ranking

1. Carlos Burle
2. Mark Healey
3. Chris Bertish
4. Grant Baker
5. Peter Mel
6. Shane Desmond6
7. Greg Long
8. Shane Dorian
9. Anthony Tashnick

Top Stories

The world's first city center wave pool is ready to welcome surfers. Meet RiF010, the Dutch answer to urban surfing.

AllWaves is a new wave pool technology from Belgium that allows surfing on an artificial lake, thus bringing surfing experiences closer to enthusiasts and landlocked surfers.

Three foreign surfers were murdered while on a surf trip through Baja California, Mexico.

Bianca Valenti, Alo Slebir, Wilem Banks, and Jojo Roper were the standout wave riders of the 2024 Mavericks Surf Awards.