Chad du Toit is the 2010 Billabong Pro Junior champion

September 6, 2010 | Surfing

Nick Godfrey: smile, second it's nice

Chad du Toit won the internationally rated ASP Grade-One Billabong Pro Junior men’s title at Herold’s Bay today, defeating Nick Godfrey in powerful 1.5 metre surf that provided the country’s best 20-and-under surfers with excellent opportunities to display their talents.

Du Toit, 20, the 2009 ASP Africa Pro Junior champion and top seed in the event, started the final brightly by racking up mid-range scores of 6.5 and 6.0 out of 10. Godfrey stayed in contention with a 5.5 before du Toit sealed victory in his final Pro Junior event in home waters, producing a near-perfect ride of 9.75 for four massive top to bottom carves on an overhead wave with eight minutes remaining.

An emotional du Toit dedicated his win to his Grandfather who passed away recently before collecting his US $2 000 (R14 800) prize-purse plus 1 000 points which elevated him to second spot on the yearend ASP Africa Pro Junior Rankings, behind 2010 ASP Africa Pro Junior Champion and Billabong team rider Shaun Joubert (Mossel Bay), who did not compete in this event.

Du Toit also clinched one of the three coveted invitations to compete on the inaugural ASP World Junior Tour which starts in Bali next month and crowns the ASP World Junior Champion in Sydney, Australia, in January.

The finals of the Pro Surf Tour (PST) events again demonstrated the strength in depth of surfing in this country, serving up phenomenal performances from the future surf stars in brilliant sunshine but testing surf conditions.


Pro Junior men
1. Chad du Toit (Berea)
2. Nick Godfrey (Cape St Francis)
=3. Matt Bromley (Kommetjie)
=3. Steven Sawyer (Jeffreys Bay)
=5. Shawn Dennis (Durban)
=5. Davey Brand (Kommetjie)
=5. Haydn MacNicol (Scottburgh)
=5. David van Zyl (Glenashley)

U16 boys
1. Slade Prestwich (Scottburgh)
2. Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay)
3. Steven Sawyer (Jeffreys Bay)
4. Benji Brand (Kommetjie)

U14 boys
1. Benji Brand (Kommetjie)
2. Max Armstrong (Scarborough)
3. Shane Sykes (Salt Rock)
4. Steffen Burrows (Strand)

U12 boys
1. Jordan Maree (Kalk Bay)
2. Adin Masencamp (Somerset West)
3. Donovan Wichmann (Marina da Gama)
4. Ford van Jaarsveld (Kommetjie)

Von Zipper Air Show
1. Slade Prestwich (Scottburgh)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019