Classic surf at the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach 2014

April 20, 2014 | Surfing
Felipe Toledo: pocket timing

Clean and pristine surf conditions marked the second day of competition at the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach 2014, in Victoria, Australia.

Michel Bourez was not able to repeat the Margaret River Pro performance. The powerful Tahitian was defeated by the injury replacement surfer Glen Hall, in Round 2.

"It's been a long road to get here but surfing in the first heat of the day with great waves and ACDC's Hell's Bells playing in the background has made it all worth it," reveals Glenn Hall.

Adriano de Souza showed Brett Simpson why he is the defending event winner. The Brazilian wasted little time in capitalizing on the conditions, surging into the Bells walls with a 7.67 and backing it up with a dazzling, running, right-hander and the highest score of the men's competition so far, a 9.17.

"My surfing definitely fits this wave. My confidence is high and I really want to try and do well because last year I won this event," says de Souza.

John John Florence snatched a win over powerful Portuguese surfer Tiago Pires. Despite putting up a solid score of his own, Florence struggled to find a back-up score to help overturn Pires' lead. It wasn't until the final moments that the Hawaiian was able to unload a series of high-velocity maneuvers and notch a 7.53.

"The one that really threw me off was when I did that turn and tried to get barreled and I fell, I was so mad at that one. It's firing out there, it's like what you see in the photos of Bells Beach," adds Florence.

Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach Round 3 Match-ups:

Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Mitch Crews (AUS)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Filipe Toledo (BRA)
Heat 3: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 4: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Bede Durbidge (AUS)
Heat 5: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. John John Florence (HAW)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 8: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Owen Wright (AUS)
Heat 9: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Sebastian Zeitz (HAW)
Heat 10: Nat Young (USA) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 11: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019