Classic wave rides at the J-Bay Open 2014

July 12, 2014 | Surfing
Matt Wilkinson: inspired at Supertubes

The Round 2 of the J-Bay Open 2014 has been completed in three-to-five foot (1 metre) top-to-bottom surf at Supertubes, Jeffreys Bay.

Professional surfing's win-or-die clash decided who will be riding Round 3, in South Africa's most famous surf spot.

Gabriel Medina, Joel Parkinson and Julian Wilson survived their elimination heats. They are joined by Matt Wilkinson, who eliminated fellow Australian surfer Bede Durbidge.

"Bede never falls, he makes every section and throws so much power. I knew it was going to be a tough heat. It's good to get a heat win under my belt and to be into the third Round. I'm sure there'll be more tough heats but I'm excited," says Wilkinson.

After finishing in equal third at the Mr Price Pro Ballito, Tiago Pires failed to keep a high profile at Jeffreys Bay. C.J. Hobgood's huge carves and a tight tube ride on the first wave proved to be critical.

"Sometimes you have to win heats to get your confidence up and it's been a good two months since I've had a heat win. I had Tiago in Fiji, and he smoked me. I saw the other guys catching waves to get into rhythm so I just tried to catch as many as possible," says Hobgood.

Like Hobgood, Miguel Pupo tasted his first heat win since Bells Beach. The second all-Brazilian match-up of the day saw him surfing against Jadson Andre.

"It's my first time in J-Bay and I've already fallen in love with the place. It's a special place for all the surfers because of the history over here. Hopefully, I can come here every year," concludes Miguel Pupo.

2014 J-Bay Open Round 3 Match-Ups:

Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. Julian Wilson (AUS)
Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
John John Florence (HAW) vs. Owen Wright (AUS)
Nat Young (USA) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019