Corey Ziems takes the 2010 Queensland Championship Circuit

June 27, 2010 | Surfing

Corey Ziems: big in Australia

Corey Ziems (Currumbin, Qld) today clinched his maiden Queensland Championship Circuit (QCC) crown after finishing second at the Coolum and Alex Surf Sunshine Coast Pro presented by O’Neil.

The result was enough for Ziems to secure the prestigious Queensland Open Men’s surfing title and in doing so, book a spot in the trials of the 2011 ASP Quiksilver Pro on the Gold Coast.

Ziems was one of the standout competitors of the event, signalling his intentions early on the final day of competition, securing the XXXX Summer Bright Lager Wave of the Weekend after posting the highest individual wave score of the entire competition with a 9.27 (out of a possible 10).

Coolum Beach (Sunshine Coast, Queensland) provided an ideal setting to host the fourth and final event of the series, with the 0.5m beach break conditions providing the perfect platform for Queensland’s finest Open competitors to showcase their amazing surfing prowess.

Billed as a head-to-head showdown between Ziems and young-gun Thomas Woods (Burleigh Heads, Qld), the competition lived up to all the pre-event hype, producing yet another nail-biting finish to the Queensland Championship Circuit with the winner based on a competitors best three-of-four results.

However, in the end, Ziems edged out Woods by 120 ratings points (2590 to 2470) in the overall series.

Worth noting is the fact that if Ziems had of finished third in today’s final rather than his second place, Woods would have secured the series by 10 points.

“I’m absolutely wrapped to win the series and gain that spot in the trials of next year’s Quiksilver Pro,” Ziems said.

“I had a real battle with Thomas (Woods) in the semi-finals and after that I knew I had to place high in the final to take the overall series win, so I just went out there and gave it my all,” he said.

However, Ziems and Woods (who both qualify for the 2011 Quiksilver Pro Trials) weren’t the only competitors on the beach celebrating today, with Matt Jones (Yamba, NSW) toppling Ziems and a host of other QCC stars to win the Coolum and Alex Surf Sunshine Coast Pro presented by O’Neil.

Jones proved too strong in the event’s final for Ziems, Blake Wilson (Maroochydore, Qld) and Noah Lane (Rainbow Beach/Burleigh Heads, Qld) who finished second to fourth respectively.

Jones scored a combined two-wave heat total of 14.67 (out of a possible 20) in the final, including a 6.60 ride on the final siren, which gave him the victory over Ziems by the slightest of margins (14.67 to Ziems’ 14.50).

2010 Queensland Championship Circuit Results:

1st Corey Ziems (Currumbin, Qld) – 2590 Points
2nd Thomas Woods (Burleigh Heads, Qld) – 2470 Points
3rd Chris Bennetts (Main Beach, Qld) – 1955 Points

Coolum & Alex Surf – Sunshine Coast Pro Results:

1st Matt Jones (Yamba, NSW)
2nd Corey Ziems (Currumbin, Qld)
3rd Blake Wilson (Maroochydore, Qld)
4th Noah Lane (Rainbow Beach / Burleigh Heads, Qld)

Past Champions

2010: Corey Ziems (Currumbin, Qld)
2009: Nick Vasiceck (Coolangatta, Qld)
2008: Shaun Gossmann (Snapper Rocks, Qld)
2007: Trevor Tripcony (Yaroomba, Qld)
2006: Dave Reardon-Smith (Yaroomba, Qld)
2005: Damon Harvey (Coolangatta, Qld)
2004: Samba Mann (Tweed Heads, NSW)
2003: Dave Reardon-Smith (Yaroomba, Qld)
2002: Mark Richardson (Currumbin, Qld)
2001: Trevor Tripcony (Yaroomba, Qld)
2000: Jye Gofton (Coolangatta, Qld)
1999: Dave Reardon-Smith (Yaroomba, Qld)
1998: Mark Richardson (Currumbin, Qld)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: