Dane Reynolds confirmed as wildcard for the J-Bay Open 2015

June 25, 2015 | Surfing
Jeffreys Bay: the world's finest speedy righthand pointbreak | Photo: Deon Lategan/JBay Winterfest

Dane Reynolds has apparently secured a golden wildcard into the World Surf League (WSL). The surfer from Ventura is the invited guest of the J-Bay Open 2015, at Jeffreys Bay, South Africa.

Reynolds' third wildcard spot of the season was announced by WSL Commissioner's Office, which cited "the Californian’s incredible talent, ability to lift the event’s performance level and recent surfing in Fiji" as reasons for his selection.

The J-Bay Open 2015 is the sixth stop on the World Surf League and will run from July 8th-19th, at the iconic speedy South African righthand pointbreak. Adriano de Souza leads the fleet.

Local talent Slade Prestwich has earned a coveted wildcard entry into the main event with a win at the JBU Supertrials 2015. The Durban-based Qualifying Series (QS) surfer will battle De Souza and Adam Melling in Round 1.

"I have nothing to lose and will give everything I have in the J-Bay Open. I love surfing at Supertubes and to get another chance to surf Supers with just one or two other guys in the water is going to be really cool. I cannot wait to surf against the likes of Kelly Slater, he's a total legend," expresses Davies.

Mick Fanning, the winner of the J-Bay Open 2014, has won the event thrice. Another victory in Jeffreys Bay will equal Kelly Slater's record of four wins in South Africa.

J-Bay Open 2015 | Round 1 Match-Ups

Taj Burrow (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF), Brett Simpson (USA)
Julian Wilson (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Owen Wright (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Filipe Toledo (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS), Dane Reynolds (USA)
Mick Fanning (AUS), Matt Banting (AUS), Tomas Hermes (BRA)
Adriano de Souza (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Slade Prestwich (ZAF)
Josh Kerr (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Kelly Slater (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Nat Young (USA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Italo Ferreira (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA), Fredrick Patacchia (USA)
Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jordy Smith (ZAF), Ricardo Christie (NZL)
Gabriel Medina (BRA), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Keanu Asing (HAW)

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2019 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers