Darren O'Rafferty and Dimity Stoyle conquer the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Trials

December 20, 2009 | Surfing

Darren O’Rafferty

Kirra Boardriders surfer Darren O’Rafferty, 30, today captured the prestigious Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Trials for the Trails qualifying for the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Trials event, which is held at Snapper Rocks (Gold Coast) on February 26 – One day before the 2010 Quiksilver and Roxy Pros begin.

Held in testing, 0.5-1m conditions at Southport Spit, O’Rafferty clinically attacked the shifting beach break peaks, scoring a combined final heat total of 16.93 (out of a possible 20) including an impressive 9.1 ride (out of a possible 10) shutting out his nearest opponents with a dominant display of surfing.

Joining O’Rafferty in 2010’s Quiksilver Pro Trials will be Coolangatta’s Blake Ainsworth, 21, who also qualified after finishing second in today’s men’s draw, edging out Luke Dorrington (Coolangatta) and Corey Ziems (Currumbin) who just missed out finishing third and fourth respectively.

Not to be outdone, Queensland’s elite contingent of female surfers also put their skills on display today, as 12 of the state’s best female competitors went blow for blow in hope of securing the only female spot in next year’s Roxy Pro Trials.

In the end, it was Dimity Stoyle (Maroochydore), 21, who claimed the win ahead of a star-studded final which included Bridey McNeven (Tugun), Angie Coops (Palm Beach) and Tiani McNeven (Tugun) who finished second to fourth respectively.

Qualifying competitors from this weekend’s event will now line up against a stellar lineup of surfers at the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Trials, which includes World Qualifying Series seeds, top Queensland Championship Circuit competitors, Snapper Rocks Surfriders and hand-picked Quiksilver wildcards.

Surfing Queensland Events Manager Scott Gillies said today’s event was all about the competitors.

“The Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Trials for the Trials is purely and simply about finding the best two Queensland males and best female surfers to compete in next year’s trials where they will get a shot at earning a spot in the main draw for the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro.”

Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Trials Qualifiers


1. Darren O’Rafferty
2. Blake Ainsworth


1. Dimity Stoyle