Decision time at the Billabong Pipe Masters 2016

December 19, 2016 | Surfing
Joel Parkinson: enjoying the Backdoor pit | Photo: Heff/WSL

Despite the small waves, the Billabong Pipe Masters 2016 has finally entered Round 4.

John John Florence looked comfortable in the three-to-five-foot surf at Pipeline. The 2016 World Surf League champion eliminated Bede Durbidge, and he is en route to winning the 2016 Triple Crown of Surfing.

"It was super cool to surf against Bede. He is such a legend and such a good guy. He is an amazing surfer, and it is so awesome to see him back in the water now. I started working with him at Snapper earlier this year, and he was barely walking," noted Florence.

Ryan Callinan was one of the standouts of the day. The Australian defeated Gabriel Medina in Round 3, with a couple of Backdoor barrels. After a frustrating rookie year on the Championship Tour, Callinan found the gems he needed to prove his competence.

"I am really happy to make some heats. I feel like I am just surfing and trying to get a good wave to myself. There's no way I can requalify so I just went out there to have fun. I was disappointed not to make it but lots of friends did. I'm pumped for next year to try and get back on tour," revealed Ryan Callinan.

Kelly Slater narrowly overcame Conner Coffin, but a long barrel awarded with 8.27 points allowed him to progress to Round 4.

"It was a real tactical battle, so I was just trying to get something going on the smaller waves. Backdoor is one of the great air waves when the wind is right. There's always more to learn. It's great to see how many rotations and flips are coming in," concluded Slater.

Kai Otton surfed his last heat on the Dream Tour. He announced he will join Taj Burrow in the free surfing world.

Billabong Pipe Masters 2016 | Round 3 Results

Jeremy Flores (FRA) 13.84 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 7.43
Filipe Toledo (BRA) 10.44 def. Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 4.13
Kolohe Andino (USA) 10.83 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 10.07
Joel Parkinson (AUS) 12.10 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 8.74
Michel Bourez (PYF) 12.16 def. Itala Ferreira (BRA) 10.34
John John Florence (HAW) 15.27 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 9.94
Ryan Callinan (AUS) 15.34 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.43
Josh Kerr (AUS) 7.33 def. Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 2.94
Nat Young (USA) 8.00 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 3.34
Kanoa Igarashi (USA) 7.50 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 3.60
Kelly Slater (USA) 15.27 def. Conner Coffin (USA) 15.20

Billabong Pipe Masters 2016 | Round 3 Match-Ups

Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Alex Ribeiro (BRA)

Billabong Pipe Masters 2016 | Round 4 Match-Ups

Kolohe Andino (USA), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Jeremy Flores (FRA)
John John Florence (HAW), Michel Bourez (PYF), Joel Parkinson (AUS)
Ryan Callinan (AUS), Josh Kerr (AUS), Nat Young (USA)
Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Kelly Slater (USA), TBD

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019