Dede Suryana is the new Indonesian Pro Surfing champion

November 10, 2008 | Surfing

Dede Suryana

The 2008 Coca-Cola ISC season came to its official conclusion at the Sector Bar in Sanur last Saturday night with the year end awards party to crown its Indonesian surfing champions and the recognize the sponsors and contributors that made the tour such a success this year.

The couple of hundred surfers and members of the Indonesian surfing community begin arriving at the Sector Bar in Sanur starting at 7:00 pm and were treated to drinks and snacks while waiting for the show to begin, swapping stories and viewing the video and slideshows the recapped highlights of the 2008 season’s 25+ events.

MC’s Tai Graham and Ribut Wahyudi stepped up to the microphones at 8:30 to welcome the audience and get the program rolling. First off was the recognition of the ISC’s contest and judging crew for all their hard work throughout the year.

This was followed by the calling up representatives from the sponsors of the years events including Billabong, Oakley, Quiksilver, Rip Curl, Rusty, Surfer Girl, as well as SurfTime, Magic Wave, and the Bali Lifeguard Department and thanking them for all their support.

Then Mr. Setya and Mr. Nikko, representatives from the Coca-Cola Bottling Indonesia, were called up and thanked for their tremendous help and contributions that allowed the ISC to progress and grow so rapidly this year. It was also announced that Coca-Cola Bottling Indonesia would again be the sponsor of the ISC Tour for 2009, bringing a huge round of applause from the audience.

Next, it was on to the surfers themselves starting with the Junior Division. Though last year’s Junior Champion Ony Anwar was not able to leave his schooling in Australia to come to Bali to hand over the trophy to his older brother Gazali Hamzah (Sumbawa), Gazali was very stoked to add his name to the trophy above his brother’s.

Second place in the Juniors was taken by Agus Frimanto (Nusa Lembongan), and third by Putra Hermawan (Nusa Lembongan)

The Women’s Division was up next, with Yasnyiar Gea (aka Bonne) from Nias getting the honor of being the first Indonesian women to ever get her name on a championship trophy for surfing. In the runner up spot was Yesco (Japan), wife of 2004 ISC Champion Pepen Hendrick, and taking third was Nyoman Satria from Bali.

Unfortunately the new Masters Champion, Made Artha (Bali), was ill so could not attend, so ISC Head Judge Wayan Pica took to the stage to accept the trophy on his behalf from last years Masters Champion Wayan Gantiyasa. Runner up was Wayan Widiartha (Bali) and in third place was Ketut Menda (Bali).

In the Pro Junior Division, last year’s champion Mustofa Jeksen passed on the trophy to Raditya Rondi (Bali), with Ketut “Mega” Semadhi (Bali) in the runner up spot and Agus Purnawan (Nusa Lembongan) taking third.

For the grand finale, amidst the roars of the crowd, Dede Suryana (West Java) jumped up on stage and was extremely excited and proud to accept his new titled as 2008 Indonesian Surfing Champion.

He welcomed the opportunity to thank the many people and sponsors that not only made the tour possible, but had also helped him to be able to achieve his goal of being Indonesian’s top professional surfer.

“I’m so proud to be standing up here to get this trophy and this award, and I thank everybody here, my sponsors, the event sponsors, Coca-Cola, and all the people here in Bali that makes this the greatest place to live and surf. I’m so happy, and I thank all of you guys so much!” Suryana hails from small coastal town of Cimaja in West Java, a few hours west of the capital city of Jakarta, but now spends most of the year as a resident of Bali.

In the runner up spot was last year’s champion Lee Wilson, (whose late appearance at the event was blamed on “baby issues”), and Made “Garut” Widiarta placed third in the rankings (not in attendance due to being in Hawaii).

After Dede jumped down from the stage to the cheers of the crowd, ISC CEO Tipi Jabrik climbed up on the stage to announce the schedule of events planned for the 2009 tour season.

Highlights of the schedule were the return of the ISC tour to West Java, with Billabong holding a 6 star event in May in Cimaja, and Oakley following suit at Batu Karas. A total of 8 Pro Tour events (many of which include a Masters and Women’s Division), as well as 10 Junior events and 1 Pro Junior event are already locked for 2009, with several more in negotiations.

In addition, the ISC is adding a new Longboard Division for the 2009 season, which will be included in the Oakley and Rip Curl events at Kuta Beach in August and October.

With the formalities being over, the Joni Agung N Double T Band took to the stage with their rock reggae beat, and soon all the boys and girls were cutting it up on the dance floor between trips to the bar for drinks.

The only complaint heard was the limited amount of alcohol on hand, but the blame for that rests upon the fact that there is a severe shortage currently, due to some government import and taxation issues. But there was plenty of Bintang, so no one went thirsty at this party!

Indonesia Surfing Championship 2008 Final

Pro Division

1. Dede Suryana
2. Lee Wilson
3. Made “Garut” Widiarta
4. Made Raditya Rondi
5. Made Awan

Masters Division

1. Made Artha
2. Wayan Widiartha
3. Ketut Menda

Pro Junior Division

1. Made Raditya Rondi
2. Ketut “Mega” Semadhi
3. Agus Purnawan

Women’s Division

1. Yasnyiar Gea (Bonne)
2. Yesco
3. Nyoman Satria

Junior Division

1. Gazali Hamzah
2. Agus Frimanto
3. Putra Hermawan

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: