Dominicans shine in the Caribbean Surf Tournament in Cuba

February 18, 2010 | Surfing

Junior Gómez: leading the Dominican surfing arsenal

Surfer Júnior Gómez of Rio San and Body boarder Edwin Then of Nagua scored top placement in their categories at the Caribbean Surf Tournament in Cuba, February 4-8, 2010, an event organized by the Pan American Surf Association (PASA).

Junior Gómez won second place in the Open Surf category and Edwin Then scored a first place win in the Open Bodyboard category. The athletes’ trip to the neighboring island of Cuba was sponsored by FEDOSURF.

The championship in Cuba, “Project For The Love of Surf 2010”, was organized by the Pan American Surf Association (PASA), whose goal is to promote the development of competitive surfing in Caribbean countries, which have ideal natural conditions for practicing the sport.

Dominican Júnior Gómez competed in the final heat of the Open Surfing against surfers from Barbados, Cuba and Jamaica. First place in the Open Surf category was won by Jamaican Icah Willmot and third place by Umberto Rodríguez of Cuba.

Gómez was awarded Athlete of the Year in 2007 and 2009, by the Dominican Olympic Committee. He currently remains involved in national tournaments organized by the Dominican Surfing Federation (FEDOSURF), always ranking among the top five.

In 2007, Gómez represented the Dominican Republic at the Pan American Surfing Championships in Iquique, Chile. Additionally, Gómez is an active member of the national Rip Curl team and a local at one of the top waves of the Island, “Playa Grande”.

Edwin Then, from Nagua, was crowned champion in the Open Body Board division, along with surfers Frank Gonzales and Guillermo Torres of Cuba, who won second and third place; Pine Lestor of Barbados was ranked fourth.

Edwin Then practices his sport in Nagua which has a reputation for being one of the most tubular and powerful beach breaks of the island.

Presiding over the event and presenting awards were Mrs. Maile Aguerre and Mr. Juca de Barros, President and Vice-President of the Pan American Surf Association. uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.