Dramatic upsets in the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach

April 21, 2011 | Surfing

Owen Wright: backside style

Taj Burrow and Adam Robertson are out of the 2011 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach. The shocking early exit of the charismatic Australian surfers was caused by Bobby Martinez and Jordy Smith.

Offshore winds and three-to-five foot (1–1.5 metre) surf at Winkipop were the perfect conditions available for the Round 2 clashes.

Owen Wright, 21, rebounded from a disappointing Round 1 heat yesterday by schooling Brazilian prodigy and Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach wildcard Gabriel Medina in their Round 2 clash.

"I knew that he (Gabriel Medina) was dangerous out there," Wright said. "I got a couple of good scores and kept building on them throughout the heat. I had a few nerves in my first round heat and didn't find any form at all, so it felt great to have a good heat. I'm not a rookie anymore, I'm one of the guys in the top few that wants to get higher. It's a challenge, but I'm ready to step up."

The goofy footers struggled to find barrels along Winki’s reef. Wright will face Gabe Kling in Round 3 of competition.

Josh Kerr, 27, had a dream heat today taking down fellow Australian Adrian Buchan. Kerr didn't put a foot wrong, picking all the best waves, timing them to perfection and tearing them apart.

"That was so fun!" Kerr said. "I was losing my marbles paddling out, I was so excited. I think I claimed a couple of waves out there, I don't normally do that, sorry. Ace got me on the Gold Coast, so it was good to get him back in a high scoring heat." Kerr draws Mick Fanning former two-time ASP World Champion, in Round 3 of competition.

Carissa Moore, current ASP Women’s World No. 1, bounced back from yesterday’s Round 1 loss in spectacular fashion, scoring two nine-point rides earning the highest heat total of the event and sending the young Australian wildcard, Nikki Van-Dijk, 16, packing. Tyler Wright put on an impressive performance, mixing power carves with stylish snaps to easily progress into Round 3.


Heat 1: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Joel Parkinson (AUS)
Heat 4: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Stu Kennedy (AUS)
Heat 7: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 8: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 11: Jadson Andre (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019