Eduardo Santana and Martin Pérez win the Bahoruco 2010

June 29, 2010 | Surfing

Bahoruco 2010: clean water carving

The “Bahoruco 2010 Southwest Surfing Championship” held by the Dominican Surfing Federation (FEDOSURF) in Bahoruco beach in the province of Barahona, Dominican Republic on June 19-20, 2010 resulted in a resounding success. The event was held on the occasion of the International Surfing Day and qualified as the third competition in the 2010 National ranking.

The competition brought together a large number of athlete surfers and bodyboarders, with representatives from almost the entire North Coast and South of the Island, mobilized by free bus transportation for the competitors, provided by the Dominican Olympic Committee.

In the journey beginning in the city of Puerto Plata, the bus made stops in the communities of Sosua, Cabarete, Nagua, Santo Domingo, Nizao and Barahona on it’s way to the competition.

Throughout the weekend, beautiful waves and bright sunshine allowed a magnificent development of the championship, thus achieving the following results:

In the Open Surfing, Eduardo ‘Papito’ Santana of Cabarete won First Place followed by Bahoruco local Julio Betances in Second, Third Place was awarded to Willy Valdez of Puerto Plata, and ranked Fourth was Socrates Medina also of Bahoruco. All of these finalists were awarded with a cash prize and Powerade sports drink products.

For the Open Bodyboard, among the finalists were in First Place Martín Pérez, followed by Second Place Randy Vasquez, both of Nagua, and Third and Fourth Place was won by Mario Gomez and Julfien Sims, both from Puerto Plata. Finalists in this division were also awarded with a cash prize and Powerade sports drink products.

In the Junior Surfing division, First Place was again touched by Eduard ‘Papito’ Santana and Second to his brother Daniel Santana, both from Cabarete. Isaac Croz also from Cabarete won Third Place, and Fourth Place was awarded to Luis Alfredo Felix, from Nizao. All of these finalists were awarded with a surfboard compliments of Gough Surfboards – The Board Spot, and Powerade products.

Rene Gough from Boca Chica was the Longboard division champion, followed by runner-up Marcos Saint Hilaire of Santo Domingo. In Third Place was Angel Comprés of Cabarete.

The Dominican Surfing Federation (FEDOSURF) has developed this tournament at Bahoruco beach for the past two years to help promote this extraordinary destination for surfing in the Southwest of the country.

Bahoruco includes such important elements as beautiful beaches, high-quality and consistency of waves, the drive and enthusiasm of local athletes, combined with good weather and the gracious hospitality of its people making this an excellent area for the practice and discipline of surfing on the Island. uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.