Exciting opening day at the 2015 Quiksilver Pro France

October 8, 2015 | Surfing
Julian Wilson: married and barreled | Photo: Poullenot/WSL

Twelve surfers have earned a spot in Round 3 of the 2015 Quiksilver Pro France. The first day of competition got underway in clean six-to-eight foot (2-2.5-meter waves) at Culs Nus, in Landes.

The inaugural Round 1 heat brought the first surprise. Brett Simpson sent Kelly Slater to the dangerous repechage game. Both surfers ended up with the same total heat score, but the Californian had the highest-scoring wave.

"It's really fun; there's peaks everywhere, and I was able to get two good waves. I almost made a mistake at the end, I had priority and Kelly got a wave, I made the decision not to go, and he almost got the score. I haven't had much success as of late, and it feels great to get a win," said Simpson.

Dane Reynolds, who is giving away his entire prize money to the South African NGO "Surfers, Not Street Children," found his rhythm and is happy to move to Round 3.

"I'm definitely inspired to surf good and do my best, good waves make it exciting, and I think the performance excites me. A lot of time you're at the contest area, and you know the good ones are straight out or to the left or right, but we were down the beach, so I had no idea what to expect," added Reynolds.

John John Florence enjoyed the highest heat total of Round 1: 18.60 points. The Hawaiian got barreled and showcased his trademark layback snap to win the heat over Alejo Muniz and Jeremy Flores.

"There's a lot of water moving, but it's really fun and clean. I love coming back here. It's been flat the whole time we've been here so I was a little worried but when I woke up this morning and saw this bank with the righthand barrels I thought this would be fun," concluded Florence.

2015 Quiksilver Pro France | Round 2 Matchups

Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. Maxime Huscenot (FRA)
Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Caio Ibelli (BRA)
Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)
Italo Ferreira (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Nat Young (USA) vs. Ricardo Christie (NZL)
Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Glenn Hall (IRL)
Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Keanu Asing (HAW)
Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
Jadson Andre (BRA) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019