Fear comes into play at the 2015 Billabong Pro Tahiti

August 25, 2015 | Surfing
Jeremy Flores: wearing a helmet at Teahupoo | Photo: Robertson/WSL

The world's best tube riders put their skills to test in treacherous conditions at Teahupoo, as the 2015 Billabong Pro Tahiti steps into the finals day.

Round 3 and 4 were completed in building four-to-six-foot surf. Gabriel Medina, Gabriel Medina, Kelly Slater and Owen Wright have earned a spot in the quarterfinals of the event.

"I heard Jeremy say this morning that these conditions are really dangerous, and I'd have to agree with him. It's so shallow and every time you take off you can just see the reef. I'm stoked to win because it's the first time I've really utilized the three-man heats this year," noted Wright.

Gabriel Medina showed no mercy in his Round 4 clash against fellow Brazilian surfers Italo Ferreira and Bruno Santos. The 2014 world surfing champion found the biggest barrels and moved through to the quarterfinals.

"I knew that would be a tough one, against Bruno especially. The 9.97 felt really good but then Bruno almost got me at the end. I'm really happy for the win and excited for the next Round. It would mean a lot to win here again because I love this wave," told Medina.

Kelly Slater is making waves, too. The Floridian is en route to securing one of the best results of the season. In a challenging heat against Jeremy Flores and CJ Hobgood, Slater discovered a last-minute gem to win the heat.

"Those first waves out there you don't really want to catch them because they're so bumpy and frothy. I was doubting that 9.77, but I just went on the wave anyway. The first foam ball bounced me and slowed me down and then the next one slowed me down even more but then I made it out," concluded Kelly Slater.

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2015 | Round 3

Filipe Toledo (BRA) 16.97 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 12.50
Kai Otton (AUS) 13.13 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 12.00
Owen Wright (AUS) 18.23 def. Dusty Payne (HAW) 15.70
Italo Ferreira (BRA) 16.10 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 9.83
Gabriel Medina (HAW) 19.00 def. John John Florence (HAW) 18.84
Bruno Santos (BRA) 16.20 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 13.70
Aritz Aranburu (ESP) 15.17 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 6.67
Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 16.83 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 8.66
Josh Kerr (AUS) 15.80 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 13.67
Kelly Slater (USA) 14.06 def. Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 13.33
Jeremy Flores (FRA) 18.87 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 14.60
C.J. Hobgood (USA) 13.60 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 9.50

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2015 | Round 4

Owen Wright (AUS) 14.84, Filipe Toledo (BRA) 13.06, Kai Otton (AUS) 12.70
Gabriel Medina (HAW) 17.64, Italo Ferreira (BRA) 17.10, Bruno Santos (BRA) 6.84
Josh Kerr (AUS) 13.20, Aritz Aranburu (ESP) 11.43, Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 6.40
Kelly Slater (USA) 16.60, Jeremy Flores (FRA) 14.66, C.J. Hobgood (USA) 8.30

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2015 | Round 5 Matchups

Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. Italo Ferreira (BRA)
Bruno Santos (BRA) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Aritz Aranburu (ESP) vs. C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019