Filipe Toledo wins 2017 Corona Open J-Bay

July 20, 2017 | Surfing
Filipe Toledo: winner of the 2017 Corona Open J-Bay | Photo: Cestari/WSL

Filipe Toledo has taken out the 2017 Corona Open J-Bay, in South Africa.

The 40-minute final went underway in clean six-to-eight foot surf at Supertubes. Frederico Morais knew he had nothing to lose, and the pressure was on Filipe Toledo's side. Could the Portuguese rookie make history for his country?

Morais kicked things off quickly with three low scoring waves, and Toledo answered with a few better rides and a stunning floater. However, the Portuguese was the first to find a deep barrel.

The heat was on, and the rain arrived. With 18 minutes to go, Morais needed a 9.17 to get to first. He got it. But a few seconds later, he needed an 8.60. With ten minutes on the clock, it couldn't get more exciting.

The waves weren't coming, and you could feel the tension in the air. With two minutes on the clock, Toledo used priority and dried Morais. The Brazilian fulfilled his dream.

"I still can't believe it. J-Bay has always been a contest that was in my dreams to win. To surf perfect waves like this that we did the entire contest. I've got to thank God for the amazing week that we've had," said Filipe Toledo.

"This is definitely going to be the competition I remember for forty or fifty years, not just because I won but because of the level of surfing during this whole week."

Despite losing the final, Frederico Morais won't forget Jeffreys Bay. He became the first Portuguese surfer ever to reach a final of a Championship Tour event. On the road to the final, Morais defeated three world champions - Florence, Fanning, and Medina.

"I just love this place, it is amazing.“Everyone is so nice, the waves are amazing, the weather is really similar to home, and the vibe that you feel here is crazy good. It is an unforgettable place. Thank you to everyone for watching and supporting us," expressed Morais.

The 2017 Corona Open J-Bay had eight Perfect 10-point rides. It was widely considered one of the best editions in years with an exciting combination of carves, explosion and tube rides.

The next stop on the 2017 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) is the Billabong Pro Tahiti and runs from August 11-22.

2017 Corona Open J-Bay | Final

1. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 18.00
2. Frederico Morais (POR) 17.73