Firing barrels pump the Volcom Fiji Pro 2013

June 4, 2013 | Surfing
Cloudbreak: Fiji perfection

Cloudbreak delivered firing four-to-six foot (2 – 2.5 metre) barrels for the opening round of the Volcom Fiji Pro 2013.

The first perfect 10 point ride of competition has been awarded to Mitch Coleborn, as he locked into a flawless wave seconds after the start of his heat and drove through two heaving barrel sections to earn the score.

"I’m feeling in good rhythm and trying to keep momentum going after my win last week in Brazil. My first wave was a 10 and I don’t know what to say, I’m stoked. Hopefully I can keep it going in Round 3", Coleborn said, who beat Adrian de Souza and Alejo Muniz.

Heitor Alves, former Dream Tour competitor and last-minute alternate in the Volcom Fiji Pro, drove through two deep lefthand barrels, notching a near-perfect 9.80 and 8.83 for his efforts to advance to Round 3 over fellow goofy-footer Matt Wilkinson.

Fred Patacchia returned to competition following a serious ankle injury and completed pristine forehand barrels relegating Jordy Smith and fellow Hawaiian Sebastian Zietz to Round 2.

Damien Hobgood was deadly in the technical barrels at Cloudbreak , beating two-time ASP world champion Mick Fanning and wildcard Alex Grey. Kelly Slater Slater opted to remain in Florida for the birth of his nephew and Joel Parkinson arrived late from fishing.

Kai Otton contributed to the day’s goofy-footed dominance, besting 2012 Volcom Fiji Pro runner-up Gabriel Medina and dangerous Hawaiian Dusty Payne, compliments of two deep forehand barrels.

Volcom Fiji Pro 2013 | Round 1 Results

Heat 1: Fred Patacchia (HAW) 15.20, Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 14.50, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 11.00
Heat 2: Travis Logie (ZAF) 10.06, Yadin Nicol (AUS) 6.67, Taj Burrow (AUS) 4.90
Heat 3: Heitor Alves (BRA) 18.63, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 15.33, Joel Parkinson (AUS) ns
Heat 4: Mitch Coleborn (AUS) 19.33, Alejo Muniz (BRA) 6.60, Adriano de Souza (BRA) 5.77
Heat 5: Damien Hobgood (USA) 17.47, Mick Fanning (AUS) 17.23, Alex Grey (AUS) 6.23
Heat 6: Miguel Pupo (BRA) 12.00, Aca Lalabalavu (FIJ) 8.50, Kelly Slater (USA) ns
Heat 7: Kai Otton (AUS) 17.43, Dusty Payne (HAW) 14.36, Gabriel Medina (BRA) 7.96
Heat 8: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 12.57, Julian Wilson (AUS) 8.50, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 7.60
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) 17.66, Adam Melling (AUS) 13.36, Filipe Toledo (BRA) 13.27
Heat 10: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 16.34, Glenn Hall (IRL) 13.67, Michel Bourez (PYF) 10.63