France sweeps the Azores Eurosurf 2013

September 23, 2013 | Surfing
Azores Eurosurf 2013: France led the charge

Vincent Duvignac led France to the overall victory in the Azores Eurosurf 2013, held at Santa Barbara Beach, in the Azores Islands, Portugal.

Team France has secured the European Surfing title, with two trophies claimed by Duvignac and Alizée Arnaud - both in the surfing divisions - and many podium places in the remaining categories.

The surprise came from the Channel Islands, as they clinched a fourth position in the overall rankings, i.e., their best result ever.

Portugal was surfing in home waters and, despite finishing third right after Spain, still managed to crown two champions. Ruben Gonzalez stole the Senior Surf victory, while bodyboarder Hugo Pinheiro has taken the Eurosurfing title in his division.

"I really wanted to win this European title and I am very happy because I was first in all heats and it would be very frustrating if I wouldn't win the last one. I set up a different strategy and managed to escape the French trap", reveals Pinheiro.

Azores Eurosurfing 2013 | Results


1. France
2. Spain
3. Portugal
4. Channel Islands

Surfing Men:

1. Vincent Duvignac (FRA)
2. Gony Zubizarreta (SPA)
3. Vicente Romero (SPA)
4. Joan Duru (SPA)

Surfing Women:

1. Alizée Arnaud (FRA)
2. Maud Le Car (FRA)
3. Garazi Sanchez (SPA)
4. Adelina Taylor (SPA)


1. Ben Skinner (CI)
2. Remi Arauzo (FRA)
3. Jeremy Massiere (FRA)
4. Alberto Fernandez (SPA)

Bodyboarding Men: Hugo Pinheiro (POR)                                      
Bodyboarding Women: Alexandra Rinder (DEU)
Surf Senior: Ruben Gonzalez (POR)
Surf Master: Dani Garcia (SPA) uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.