Gabriel Medina: getting high at Rottnest Island | Photo: Dunbar/WSL

Gabriel Medina and Sally Fitzgibbons have taken out the 2021 Rip Curl Rottnest Search in Western Australia.

The fifth stop on the 2021 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) concluded in four-to-six-foot waves at Rottnest Island.

Medina used his forehand power and rail-to-rail surfing skills to annihilate the firing left-handers pumping down the line at the famous Australian surf break.

The two-time world champion ended up defeating rookie Morgan Cibilic, who only caught two waves in the final.

"Rottnest Island was a new special place for me, and I loved it. We had great waves the whole time, and I was able to surf the way I want," expressed Gabriel Medina.

The Brazilian secured the second Rip Curl Search event of his career, nearly ten years after clinching the Rip Curl Search San Francisco.

With this result, Medina almost guaranteed a spot in the season finals that will take place in Lower Trestles, Southern California, in September 2021.

In the women's final, Sally Fitzgibbons defeated Johanne Defay and won the 12th CT event of her career.

The veteran Australian surfer is chasing a maiden world title in her 12th year as an elite athlete.

"It feels good to be winning again. I grew up watching the Rip Curl Search events, and many of them were left-handers. So, I had the opportunity to use my strength, which is my backhand," added Fitzgibbons.

The next stop on the 2021 Championship Tour is the Surf Ranch Pro, which will run from June 18-20, 2021.

2021 Rip Curl Rottnest Search | Finals

1. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 15.24
2. Johanne Defay (FRA) 11.23

1. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 15.50
2. Morgan Cibilic (AUS) 7.87

Top Stories

Surfers tend to think they perform better than they actually do.

In an emotional message shared on his social media accounts, Filipe Toledo announced his withdrawal from the remainder of the 2024 Championship Tour season.

Barron Mamiya and Caitlin Simmers claimed the 2024 Pipe Pro at Banzai Pipeline, Oahu, Hawaii.

Local charger Tiago Stock claimed the 10th annual Capítulo Perfeito at Carcavelos Beach, Portugal, by defeating Rob Machado, Dylan Graves, and Balaram Stack in the final.